Kris191

64 bit and ARM

Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:50 am

Hi all,

I'm new here and ive run into a problem, firstly i'm pretty confident there is no workaround but, i'm no expert so i wanted to get some other input before i make my final decision.

I bought a Pi3 to setup and secure environment for me to install cryptocurrency wallets, upon trying to install i realized that all desktop wallets required 64 bit OS. After some searching i found that Gentoo has a working 64 Bit OS. However when trying to execute the AppImage file nothing happens.

I'm aware that ARM binary may be the problem, however i would like to ask if a workaround is possible? is it a hardware problem or a software problem? My only other option to use a old PC and run Linux on it however i liked the idea of a small form factor PC like the PI.

Thanks

fruitoftheloom

Re: 64 bit and ARM

Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:12 pm

Kris191 wrote:
Hi all,

I'm new here and ive run into a problem, firstly i'm pretty confident there is no workaround but, i'm no expert so i wanted to get some other input before i make my final decision.

I bought a Pi3 to setup and secure environment for me to install cryptocurrency wallets, upon trying to install i realized that all desktop wallets required 64 bit OS. After some searching i found that Gentoo has a working 64 Bit OS. However when trying to execute the AppImage file nothing happens.

I'm aware that ARM binary may be the problem, however i would like to ask if a workaround is possible? is it a hardware problem or a software problem? My only other option to use a old PC and run Linux on it however i liked the idea of a small form factor PC like the PI.

Thanks

First and foremost though your software states 64bit, it usually refers to x86-64 CPU Architecture.

The Raspberry Pi 3 can run either ARM32 or ARM64 Operating System as it has ARM CPU Architecture.

There are many Crypto guides, such as:

https://www.electromaker.io/tutorial/bl ... ncy-wallet