User avatar
boomonster
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 11:18 pm

My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:53 pm

Hello,

I am building armhf Debian stretch for my pi (with official kernel)
and am following these instructions: https://github.com/drtyhlpr/rpi23-gen-image

However, when I try to install crossbuild-essential-armhf, my pi 2 Rev 1.1
says that I "have held broken packages", and that I am missing a gcc
and g++ package. And when I try to install them, it gives me more dependancy
issues. So I am wondering how to force Raspbian into installing this package...

My system is Noovs v2.4, and Raspbian Stretch (up to date). I am using an 8gb SD card.
(class 8)

If you need any more information please tell me!

Thanks in advance!
Boomonster

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5935
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:40 am

Are you sure that those scripts are not meant to run on a pretty powerful PC with Debian and not the Pi itself.

The crossbuild-essential package is just a metapackage for other packages. https://packages.debian.org/stretch/cro ... tial-armhf
One of those packages are https://packages.debian.org/stretch/gcc ... -gnueabihf and that package only have x86/amd64 installation packages.

User avatar
boomonster
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 11:18 pm

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:29 pm

So then I can't install this? Would I be able to multiarch to get the package?

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5935
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:55 pm

You cant multiarch from ARM to Intel/AMD.

What are you really trying to achieve ?

User avatar
boomonster
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 11:18 pm

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:08 am

I guess I can't run Debian armhf on my pi 2 this way... :cry:
Would this work instead? viewtopic.php?f=50&t=216079
I've tried, but USB drive booting will not cooperate... :evil:

My point is, I want to run Debian on my pi 2.

Aydan
Posts: 701
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:48 am
Location: Germany, near Lake Constance

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:28 pm

Why are you trying to build debian for the RPi2?
What is wrong with using Raspbian which is Debian with a few Reaspberry specific patches?
If you really want Debian and your RPi2 has the BCM2837 processor, then debootstrap debian armhf and add raspberrypi-firmware and raspberrypi-kernel from the raspberrypi repository. (I did that once on a Pi3 for devuan).

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5935
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:04 pm

boomonster wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:08 am
My point is, I want to run Debian on my pi 2.

What is wrong with Raspbian which is 98,3% Debian ?

User avatar
boomonster
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 11:18 pm

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:49 pm

I just want a change and I want 100% debian, not whatever percent debian...

Just personal preference.

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5935
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: My pi 2 will not let me install package crossbuild-essential-armhf!

Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:14 pm

boomonster wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:49 pm
I just want a change and I want 100% debian, not whatever percent debian...
A much better way of getting that is by following Aydans advice, create a root-file system with debootstrap and use the kernel/firmware from raspbian.
boomonster wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:49 pm
Just personal preference.
But what part of the debian system do you have a preference for ? You should be able to install the gnome desktop and use that instead of LXDE if you want.


Return to “Troubleshooting”