crabsticks

cronjob @reboot not working

Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:41 am

Hello,

I'm brand new to using a raspberry pi, I have a pi 3 and I'm trying to have a script start on boot using the crontable. I have added the follwing lines..

* * * * * /home/pi/frame/syncdrives.sh >/dev/null 2>&1 {This line executes every minute as I want it to}
@reboot /home/pi/frame/start_frame.sh {this does nothing!}

I'm sure I'm missing something simple and I would appreciate it if someone could point out my mistake.

Many Thanks

pcmanbob

Re: cronjob @reboot not working

Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:23 am

Hi.

My first question is always how do you know its doing nothing ?

Cron run any programs started using it in the background so there is no output to any screen.

you check if your script is running by adding this at the start of your script, just after the shebang.

Code: Select all

echo "program start"
then change your cron entry to look like this.

Code: Select all

@reboot /home/pi/frame/start_frame.sh >> /home/pi/log.txt 2>&1
then you should see the log file created and the program start contained within it and any errors as well, if you want to monitor the execution of the script just add more echo lines within the script.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

pfletch101

Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:44 pm

crabsticks wrote:
Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:41 am
Hello,

I'm brand new to using a raspberry pi, I have a pi 3 and I'm trying to have a script start on boot using the crontable. I have added the follwing lines..

* * * * * /home/pi/frame/syncdrives.sh >/dev/null 2>&1 {This line executes every minute as I want it to}
@reboot /home/pi/frame/start_frame.sh {this does nothing!}

I'm sure I'm missing something simple and I would appreciate it if someone could point out my mistake.

Many Thanks