Tichun
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:36 pm

[Solved] WiFi stops working

Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:10 am

Code: Select all

[    5.797291] brcmfmac: brcmf_fw_map_chip_to_name: using brcm/brcmfmac43430-sdio.bin for chip 0x00a9a6(43430) rev 0x000001
[    5.797986] usbcore: registered new interface driver brcmfmac
[    6.147758] brcmfmac: brcmf_c_preinit_dcmds: Firmware version = wl0: Oct 23 2017 03:55:53 version 7.45.98.38 (r674442
CY) FWID 01-e58d219f
[    6.149158] brcmfmac: brcmf_c_preinit_dcmds: CLM version = API: 12.2 Data: 7.11.15 Compiler: 1.24.2 ClmImport: 1.24.1
Creation: 2014-05-26 10:53:55 Inc Data: 9.10.39 Inc Compiler: 1.29.4 Inc ClmImport: 1.36.3 Creation: 2017-10-23 03:47:14
[    8.209991] zram: Added device: zram0
[    8.361447] zram0: detected capacity change from 0 to 134873088
[    8.511107] Adding 131708k swap on /dev/zram0.  Priority:0 extents:1 across:131708k SSFS
[    8.645419] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
[    9.016385] random: crng init done
[    9.016419] random: 7 urandom warning(s) missed due to ratelimiting
[    9.545548] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[    9.545616] brcmfmac: power management disabled
[   10.735362] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050005)
[   11.430140] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0 eth0: hardware isn't capable of remote wakeup
[   11.430629] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[   12.266594] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[   16.965313] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
[  131.358845] Under-voltage detected! (0x00050005)
[  137.592128] Voltage normalised (0x00000000)
Well, a few under volage messages, I'm using 2.1A 5V adapter with real short cable, pi3b, stretch.
I tried reducing the min cpu freq to 200mhz and max to 800mhz added over_volt=-4 , have bt disabled in config.txt as well.
Didn't help a tid bit.

Back to the topic
We can see at 9.54 that power management is disabled for the brcmfmac, that is our WiFi, right?

Oddly enough, later on, probably not using it for just a couple of minutes - like when reading, or while I'm writing this - the WiFi supposedly falls asleep

Code: Select all

[  504.876599] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_bus_sleep: error while changing bus sleep state -110
[  504.876895] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_txfail: sdio error, abort command and terminate frame
[  504.881535] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to write data F1@0x1000d, err: -110
[  504.886245] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x1001a, err: -110
[  504.891145] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x10019, err: -110
[  504.895899] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x1001a, err: -110
[  504.900704] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x10019, err: -110
[  504.905788] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x1001a, err: -110
[  504.912002] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdiod_regrw_helper: failed to read data F1@0x10019, err: -110
This error message just loops, hundreds of times.


Is this voltage issue? WiFi works after reboot. Maybe some sleep state code bug? I have this issue for over a year, but did away with perfectly stable usb tethering from android. If I remember correctly, dongles behaved similarly as onboard but an order of magnitude more stable. I remember as well that onboard didn't work after reboot, now it seems to do (tested only today ~15times). It used to came back at random after reboots, I have probably used a longer cable back then, so maybe it is power related, indeed? IMO Disabling wifi in config.txt reduces the number of under-voltage warnings (overall it happens rarely).

Off-topic I'd recommend replacing swapfile with zram, and the 11.4301 dmesg makes me want disable this thing that makes it appear, so maybe an option to disable ethernet port in config.txt?

p.s what concerns me as well is that undervoltage happens at idle (once every ~10 minutes), how is that happening? at idle it should be 1.2v. also the green led triggering on idle scares me.
Last edited by Tichun on Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DirkS
Posts: 10497
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: WiFi in coma :(

Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:32 pm

Apparently your power supply and / or the cable from PSU to Pi is not up to the job.
Instead of fiddling around with the settings you should get a working power supply, then put Raspbian on a card and see if wifi works or not.

Tichun
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:36 pm

WiFi works

Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:25 pm

Running Arch Linux ARM aarch64 on this pi3b with same 'psu' and stuff has no problems with wifi. There is undervolt icon when running wifi-menu program but that is all. I bet most people have undervolt icon at boot as well as I have.
Also, I run it with official 4.14 kernel just built for aarch64, not mainline.

SurferTim
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: [Solved] WiFi stops working

Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:28 pm

Tichun wrote: There is undervolt icon when running wifi-menu program but that is all. I bet most people have undervolt icon at boot as well as I have.
That is not correct. I never have an undervolt icon.

LTolledo
Posts: 4461
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am
Location: Anime Heartland

Re: [Solved] WiFi stops working

Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:56 pm

SurferTim wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:28 pm
Tichun wrote: There is undervolt icon when running wifi-menu program but that is all. I bet most people have undervolt icon at boot as well as I have.
That is not correct. I never have an undervolt icon.
Never in mine too! never had one ever appearing if trying to set / unset wifi via gui. and this RPi3B+ with Stretch desktop is somewhat "loaded" (hardware wise) and my 5V 2.5A PSU is not even the RPF one.
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

Tichun
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: [Solved] WiFi stops working

Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:03 pm

Who cares if it appears for under a second?
What I mean is that my problem was NOT related to my psu, as changing raspbian with arch made wifi work flawlessly. Under Raspbian I had this problem from the beginning. For over 2 years now.

Return to “Troubleshooting”