bnmc_
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:36 pm

Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:40 pm

Hey everyone,

I have just downloaded RaspAP onto my Pi 2 Model B. Upon rebooting, I am now able to see the "raspi-webgui" network on my mobile phone. However, when I enter the default password ChangeMe, it does not seem to connect. Also, when I hover over the Wi-Fi button on the top right corner of the screen, it says "Connection to dhcpcd lost." What is causing this?

My /etc/network/interfaces looks like this:

Code: Select all

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0
auto wlan0

iface wlan0 inet dhcp
Let me know if there are any other files you would like.

SurferTim
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:50 pm

If you are downloading that onto a Stretch OS, you will have problems. APs are set up differently on Stretch. No entries in /etc/network/interfaces except for a bridge.

If you want to set up an access point on Stretch, then use this guide. It has both standalone (NAT) and bridge access points.
https://github.com/SurferTim/documentat ... s-point.md

beta-tester
Posts: 1207
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:02 pm

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... s-point.md
this works as well for stretch - even there is /etc/network/interfaces part included.

unfortunately i have no proper WiFi USB dongle on my RPi2 - my WiFi USB dongle does not support AccessPoint mode :x
maybe yours too.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi Model B (rev1, 256MB) & B (rev2, 512MB) & B+, RPi2B (1GB), 64GB microSDXC1 class 10, HDMI 1920x1080, keyboard-mouse-combo (wireless), PiCamera, ethernet-cable, 5V/1.2A power supply, Wifi dongle (rt5370)

SurferTim
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:08 pm

bnmc_ wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:40 pm
I have just downloaded RaspAP onto my Pi 2 Model B. Upon rebooting, I am now able to see the "raspi-webgui" network on my mobile phone.
However, when I enter the default password ChangeMe, it does not seem to connect.
Looks like the wifi does have ap capability, but isn't working.

Edit: That tutorial on the RPi site doesn't work for either standalone or bridged access points. Been there. Tried that.

bnmc_
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:36 pm

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:36 pm

If it helps, my wifi adapter is a Ralink RT5370.

SurferTim
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:43 pm

It is probable that you have a service fail somewhere. I will presume that the app uses dnsmasq for dhcp. Try these:

Code: Select all

sudo service dhcpcd status
sudo service dnsmasq status
ifconfig
The two services should show active (running).
Post the output of those if you have questions.

bnmc_
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:36 pm

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:02 pm

SurferTim wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:43 pm
It is probable that you have a service fail somewhere. I will presume that the app uses dnsmasq for dhcp. Try these:

Code: Select all

sudo service dhcpcd status
sudo service dnsmasq status
ifconfig
The two services should show active (running).
Post the output of those if you have questions.
The output of the first line is:

Code: Select all

Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/dhcpcd.service; enabled; vendor present: enabled)
Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Wed 2018-01-03 08:36:47 UTC; 2min 47s ago
Process: 351 ExecStart=/usr/lib/dhcpcd5/dhcpcd -q -b (code=exited, status=6)
Then it says "Not running dhcpcd because /etc/network/interfaces defines some interfaces that will use a DHCP client or static address." As such, I am assuming that my /etc/network/interfaces is configured wrongly. I had attached it in the first comment on this thread, so please take a look at it and tell me if anything needs to be changed.

However, dnsmasq shows active and running.

SurferTim
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:59 pm

In Stretch you don't use /etc/network/interfaces to assign network settings. That is done in /etc/dhcpcd.conf.

bnmc_
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:36 pm

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:07 pm

SurferTim wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:59 pm
In Stretch you don't use /etc/network/interfaces to assign network settings. That is done in /etc/dhcpcd.conf.
How is this done?

beta-tester
Posts: 1207
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: Issue when setting up RaspAP

Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:00 pm

bnmc_ wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:07 pm
SurferTim wrote:
Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:59 pm
In Stretch you don't use /etc/network/interfaces to assign network settings. That is done in /etc/dhcpcd.conf.
How is this done?
e.g.:

Code: Select all

interface wlan0
static ip_address=192.168.1.123/24
static routers=
static domain_name_servers=
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi Model B (rev1, 256MB) & B (rev2, 512MB) & B+, RPi2B (1GB), 64GB microSDXC1 class 10, HDMI 1920x1080, keyboard-mouse-combo (wireless), PiCamera, ethernet-cable, 5V/1.2A power supply, Wifi dongle (rt5370)

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bertiiiiil, Google [Bot], mfa298 and 51 guests