pmh1d15

Getting Pure data to work on Raspbian Jessie (giving pure data permission to access device?)

Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:52 pm

Hi,

I’m new to raspberry pi and am trying to run Pure data on it to control a teensy 3.2 using Open Sound Control which in turn controls some stepper motors for a pump just like here https://github.com/DropletKitchen/pumpsn17 (using the teensy code and PD files provided at the end of the page). I’ve finally managed to install PD extended on my raspberry pi 3 (Raspbian Jessie). But I don’t think PD is able to use the USB to communicate with the teensy, since if I try to run the PD file, PD gives me the error “could not open device /dev/ttyS0: failure(13): Permission denied. Could someone help me please to get PD communicating with OSC through my USB?

Also when I open PD I get this message
“/dev/dsp (read/write): No such file or directory
(now will try write-only…)
/dev/dsp (writeonly): No such file or directory
/dev/dsp (read only): No such file or directory”
and
“Audio I/O stuck… closing audio”
Do I need to do some further configuration to get Pure Data running properly?
Like I mentioned I am very new to using the raspberry pi so any help would be appreciated and please so explain as if I were an idiot.
Thank you

jonwitts
Raspberry Pi Certified Educator
Raspberry Pi Certified Educator

Re: Getting Pure data to work on Raspbian Jessie (giving pure data permission to access device?)

Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:36 pm

Umm /dev/ttyS0 is the serial device not a USB port... Are you using a Pi 3?

pmh1d15

Re: Getting Pure data to work on Raspbian Jessie (giving pure data permission to access device?)

Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:15 pm

Thank you Jonwitts for getting back to me. Yes I am using a Pi3..