zepol

Connecting Raspberry 3 to 16 relay board

Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:48 am

Hey all,

I'm new to raspberry and I'm trying to do my own Christmas light show, I'm using Falcon Player (FPP) on my RB3 , I tried to connect it to my 16 relay board using jumper cables but it doesn't work, it seems as long I connected it, it stopped working, I connected both ground and 5V too, my relay board has power source too (12 V) , so does anyone know what are the equivalents of each pin, I'm basically using all GPIOs from left side.

DougieLawson

Re: Connecting Raspberry 3 to 16 relay board

Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:41 am

Most of the cheapo Chinese relay boards are ACTIVE LOW. You need a GPIO connected to one of the relay pins, you need GND connected to RPi GND. The JC-Vcc to Vcc jumper MUST BE REMOVED. The 12V supply connects to GND and Vcc.

The you pull the GPIO low to activate the relay.

Code: Select all

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
from time import sleep     
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)     # set up BCM GPIO numbering
GPIO.setup(25, GPIO.IN)    # set GPIO25 as input (button)
GPIO.setup(24, GPIO.OUT)   # set GPIO24 as an output (relay)

try:
    while True:            
        if GPIO.input(25): # if port 25 == 1
            print "Port 25 is 1/HIGH/True - RELAY active"
            GPIO.output(24, 0)        
        else:
            print "Port 25 is 0/LOW/False - RELAY OFF"
            GPIO.output(24, 1)       
        sleep(0.1)         # wait 0.1 seconds

finally:                   
    GPIO.cleanup()       
That python program will activate the relay on pin#18 (GPIO24) when pin#22 (GPIO25) goes high.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

davidcoton

Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:51 am

DougieLawson wrote:
The JC-Vcc to Vcc jumper MUST BE REMOVED.
Correct.
DougieLawson wrote:
The 12V supply connects to GND and Vcc.