scalextrix
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:00 pm

No Global ipv6 address

Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:46 pm

Hi, Im on the latest Raspian Jessie OS and everything is up to date. I want to use IPv6 for some applications and I realised now that both my pi2 and my pi3 only have local IPV6 addresses, there are no global 2001: addresses listed in ifconfig.

My home router has IPV6 enabled and had a WAN IPV6 address and my Windows machines have IPV6 access.

I have not messed with any network settings in the Pis save on the Pi3 for setting a static IPV4 address on eth0, the pis connect via wlan0 when at home anyway. I made that change in /etc/dhcpcp.conf, everything else should be vanilla.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot this. Thanks.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39183
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:59 pm

Take a look in /etc/modprobe.d/ipv6.conf and add a # in front of every line in that file.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

scalextrix
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:30 pm

I followed what you said and did a reboot but nothing has changed, the .conf file looks like this now

# Don't load ipv6 by default
# alias net-pf-10 off
#alias ipv6 off

Any other ideas?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39183
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:02 pm

Is there a route advertiser daemon (radvd) running on your network?
Have you tried hitting your home router with a bigger stick? (Try a "big red switch" Poughkeepsie reset on it.)
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

scalextrix
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:24 pm

I dont know about a route advertisier daemon, my Windows machines get the WAN IPv6 address with no special configuration, so i assume something is doing that. How can I check?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39183
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:13 pm

Look at your router's configuration pages. Does it have somewhere where it maps out your network?

I have IPv6 running with a HE tunnel on my B+. Every other IPv6 ready device gets an IPv6 address. The only thing I've changed apart from that /etc/modprobe.d/ipv6.conf is /etc/dhcpcd.conf to use

Code: Select all

#slaac private
slaac hardware
because I find it easier to use EUI-64 generated from MAC-48 for the host parts of my IPv6 addresses.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

User avatar
elkberry
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:21 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:36 pm

Another place to check is the dhdpcd log. Does "sudo systemctl status -l dhcpcd.service" show any error messages?

You may also check whether your router does send proper RAs using the rdisc6 router discovery tool. Install it using "sudo apt-get install ndisc6". Then run "rdisc6 eth0" or "rdisc6 wlan0", depending on which interface is online and facing towards your IPv6 router.

This commands sends RS router solicitations and prints the RAs when it receives them. You should 1. receive RAs, and 2. these should contain global prefixes. In case you don't see them, something is rotten.

In case you get them, then there's probbaly a misconfiguration in network/interfaces and/or dhcpcd.conf.
From ZX81 to Raspberry Pi, but wait ... where's the 7805 gone?

beta-tester
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:09 pm

did you modified the /etc/sysctl.conf and disabled ipv6 there - but i don''t think so.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

scalextrix
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:24 am

OK my router is not giving out RAs then

pi@raspberrypi2:~ $ rdisc6 wlan0
Soliciting ff02::2 (ff02::2) on wlan0...
Timed out.
Timed out.
Timed out.
No response.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39183
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:42 am

Is it blocking something with a firewall?
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

User avatar
elkberry
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:21 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:50 am

Some home router update in the meantime that may have broken IPv6? I know of some vendors that don't have a clue when it comes to building working IPv6 home routers. Only few vendors are really smart in this field.
From ZX81 to Raspberry Pi, but wait ... where's the 7805 gone?

scalextrix
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:59 am

Yeah well it must be the router I suppose, its giving out Link Local IPv6 but not Global. Acting as a switch and not a router I suppose.

Windows works though, which seems weird.

User avatar
elkberry
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:21 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:13 pm

Link-local addresses get autoconfigured by IPv6 nodes themselves without any router. Windows is a difficult beast when it comes to IPv6: it tries stateful configuration using DHCPv6, even when told not to do so. Maybe you still see old IPv6 IA-NA leases? As a last resort, you can run wireshark and look for ICMPv6 messages of type 134, the router advertisements.
From ZX81 to Raspberry Pi, but wait ... where's the 7805 gone?

drpixie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:58 pm

Re: No Global ipv6 address

Tue Mar 17, 2020 12:05 am

For people with a similar problem, auto config might not work with your local network. For me, the following change forces use of DHCP to get an address, and worked:

In the file /etc/network/interfaces
change
iface eth0 inet auto
into
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Return to “Troubleshooting”