Canedje
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:24 pm

I try to use my build in wifi of my RPI 3. I can not fix it
I did add my ip to /etc/network/interfaces:

Code: Select all

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.185
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.1

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
address 192.168.2.200
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.1
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
iface default inet dhcp
I also added my network name and password to : /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
ap_scan=1
update_config=1
network={
        ssid="MySSID"
        psk="MYPassWd"
}
If I do ifconfig -a I dont see wlan0

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr b8:27:eb:aa:d4:28
          inet addr:192.168.2.185  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::640e:df5b:42a7:e7a7/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:34281 errors:0 dropped:139 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:61838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1883577 (1.7 MiB)  TX bytes:91484768 (87.2 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:1553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1553 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
          RX bytes:5447280 (5.1 MiB)  TX bytes:5447280 (5.1 MiB)
I'm also not able to see SSID's
sudo iwlist wlan0 scan gives:

Code: Select all

wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.
There is no connection

How activate the build in wIfi?
Last edited by Canedje on Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39553
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:30 pm

Put your interfaces file back to normal. Don't update it, it breaks networking.

viewtopic.php?p=1095863#p1095863 has sample interfaces and dhcpcd.conf files for setting a static IP address.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All fake doctors are on my foes list.

Canedje
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:34 pm

I do know how to setup WiFI and static ip
On my RPI 2B it works fine with an usb wifi dongle

I try now to use the inside wifi of the RPI3
It looks like its not activated?
The wifi equipment is not there at all?

Canedje
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:18 am

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:19 pm

Solved a syntax error in one off the config files

kreisler
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: RPI 3 no wifi

Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:03 am

DougieLawson wrote:Put your interfaces file back to normal.
You mean the untouched original file interfaces.conf? Restoring a backup copy of it?

Difficult to make backup copies (of which files) in the first place. "Permission denied" error when I try to open or copy the *.conf files.

I ended up reinstalling NOOBS

Return to “Troubleshooting”