PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:50 am

Hi there,

Just recently upgraded by BT home hub 4 to a HH6 - While my pi 2 B with built in wifi was working fine on my HH 4 it won't work correctly on HH 6 either wired or wireless.

It has kept the same fixed ip addy 192.168.1.227 and I can ping it from other machines on my network, the network. The bar with wifi the bar just keeps going up and down but it says it is associated. When plugged in I seem to be connected but not able to access the internet. In the wpa_supplicant.conf I found references to the old hub and removed them.

The only difference I can see is the the netmask on the new HH 6 is 255.255.254.0 rather than 255.255.255.0 - How do I change this on the Pi???

Thanks in advance.

Peers Cawley

DirkS
Posts: 9961
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:09 am

I assume you have something like

Code: Select all

static ip_address=192.168.1.227/24
in dhcpcd.conf to set the static address.

The /24 indicates a 24 bit netmask (= 255.255.255.0).
255.255.254.0 is a 23 bit mask so you'll have to change it to 192.168.1.227/23

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:18 am

Thanks for reply,

Just not sure where to find the file mentioned

dhcpcd.conf - where is it?

But yes the ip addy does have the /24 after it - was wondering about that!!

Peers

DirkS
Posts: 9961
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:23 am

PeersC wrote:Just not sure where to find the file mentioned

dhcpcd.conf - where is it?
/etc/dhcpcd.conf
You will need admin rights to edit it. From the command line / console you can use

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/dhcpcd.conf

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:35 am

Hi Dirk,

Yes got it now but it only has

inform 192.168.1.227

no /24 behind it but it is picking the 24 up from some where ???

it definitely looks like you are on the right track any ideas

Peers

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:01 am

Okies,

Been trying a few things.

1) added the /23 at end of 192.168.1.227 and rebooted pi - now shows /23 on network tab but still no internet connection.

2) accessed the BT hub through 192.168.1.254 on pi and got onto hub's login page - shows the pi is getting that far but no further so got to be firewall or port forwarding should I create a new rule for the pi on 192.168.1.227 using tcp/udp protocols but what start / end ports should i try and set up ???

Peers

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:51 am

Still No joy at connecting pi to internet.

Rebooted pi and it defaulted to the 255.255.255.0 netmask but that really shouldn't matter.

Can ping pi from other machines on my network
pi can ping other machines on my network
pi can access bt hub and see other machines on my network

when I try and access a website (from my history when on HH 4)

OOps it was not possible to show this website Network unreachable

Maybe not finding DNS server??

Peers

DirkS
Posts: 9961
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:05 am

Try setting your Pi to DHCP and see what happens.

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:59 am

Hi Dirk,

Many thanks for your time this morning :D

But things are not going well - The Home Hob 6 won't let me assign the pi a dynamic ip even though I set it to DHCP and save it won't save the change it must be the pi that is telling the hub what it wants to do. Can I tell the pi to accept DHCP settings from the hub?

BTW disabled wifi for now and just working through ethernet.

Cheers from Peers

jbudd
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:23 am

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:03 am

You tell the Pi to accept a DHCP address by removing the static or inform section of /etc/dhcpcd.conf. Also remove any attempts to define a static IP in /boot/config.txt and /etc/network/interfaces.

To define a static IP and a list of domain name servers in /etc/dhcpcd.conf:

Code: Select all

interface wlan0
static ip_address=192.168.1.140/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1 8.8.8.8
The netmask (/24) has to match the way your router is set up. 23 for you?

ps I think routers maintain a table of MAC addresses and the IP allocated. Perhaps rebooting will clear this, or else the router's admin pages should let you clear the stored value for the Pi

PeersC
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:33 am

Hi Jbudd,

Well I don't know why but it worked at least with ethernet but I rebooted the pi and attached the ethernet.

It's still kept it's ip addy of 192.168.227 but is now /23

we have eth0 configured 192.168.1.227/23 then same again followed by a load of hexidecimal

when I go into the HH 6 dhcp it now says the pi is configured by dhcp as dynamic so it could change - I would prefer static as my other software win scp etc can find the pi but at least I have a starting point

Thanks for the help - just need to see if wifi works the same fingers crossed

Peers

DirkS
Posts: 9961
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: New BT Home Hub 6

Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:57 am

PeersC wrote:when I go into the HH 6 dhcp it now says the pi is configured by dhcp as dynamic so it could change - I would prefer static
You can fix the IP address on the BT hub.
Go to 'my devices', then click on the entry for the Pi in the list.
You should have the option 'Always use this IP address' which should be set to Yes

Return to “Troubleshooting”