Stephen_J

RPi won't boot after first shutdown

Sun Nov 27, 2016 7:57 am

Hello, I'm new to RPi and to the Forum. I just got my first RPi3. I am a linux admin at work so cli is nothing new to me. I put the Raspbian Image on an mSD card with Etch. The Pi booted fine. I played around with it and did a shutdown -h now. When I removed power and plugged it back in, no signal was ever sent to the monitor and the green LED flashes long sequences. I counted some with results being 23, 13 , 45 and 48 flashes with 1 second breaks and no established a pattern. Google searches netted me mentions of flash codes of less than 10. I read the boot problems sticky and nothing sounds like my issue. I have a vga monitor connected via an hdmi to vga adapter. Unplugging it and plugging it back in didn't help.
I burned Raspbian Lite to a second microSD card and got the same results. There seems to be no issues with the first boot of the image but any attempt to boot again doesn't seem to start. Reboot commands are successful. Reflashing the image to the SD card gets it going again.

Thank you in advance.

Stephen

pws

Re: RPi won't boot after first shutdown

Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:54 pm

Sounds like you are not waiting long enough after you issue the "shutdown" command to remove power/sd card. Wait until activity light completely stops blinking.

fred44nl

Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:19 pm

are you by any chance using a usb-hdd without it's own power-supply ??
that's what I tried and that did nog go very well.
headless RPi 3B running from usbhdd.

Stephen_J

Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:00 pm