No HDMI output


35 posts   Page 1 of 2   1, 2
by dhackney » Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:52 pm
New RasPi
Purchased from: U.S. distributor MCM Electronics
Using included element14 distro: Linux raspberrypi 3.1.9+ #168 PREEMPT Sat Jul 14 18:56:31 BST 2012 armv6l

Status: RasPi boots. Can access via SSH.

Issue: No HDMI output.

Other:
    * Composite video output functions normally.
    * HDMI Cable 1m length
    * Target monitor is HP w2338h

Troubleshooting:
    * HDMI cable tested with two other systems (Dell laptop and APC): functions normally
    * Monitor tested with two other systems (Dell laptop and APC): functions normally
    * RasPi HDMI output tested with same HDMI cable on Dell 2407WFP monitor via DVI adaptor: no output
    * Tested various configurations with and without config file. Results here: http://pastebin.com/nBWCUTN6

[edited to include target monitor info]
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by dhackney » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:27 pm
I neglected to mention:

Other:
* Target monitor (HP w2338h) is set to default to HDMI input
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by LXicon » Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:42 pm
it seems like you've done your best to test all the hardware.

the only thing you haven't tried is a different version of linux. try going to http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads and put the latest 2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian.img onto an SD card (either a new card or overwrite the original card) and boot up with that.

if the HDMI still doesn't work then the HDMI on your raspberryPi might be broken? my raspberryPi worked with the RCA video or the HDMI video right off the bat using 2012-07-15-wheezy-raspbian.img and also with no issues with 2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian.img. since you've tested the cable and monitor, the only thing left is to test a diff OS.
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:50 pm
Location: Toronto
by dhackney » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:56 pm
LXicon,

Thanks for the reply.

I downloaded and installed the current version: 2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian.zip

RasPi booted fine.

No Joy on HDMI.

Results are here: http://pastebin.com/jQJRNkWU
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by JeremyF » Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:33 am
Maybe try hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in /boot/config.txt ?
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by dhackney » Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:02 am
JeremyF wrote:Maybe try hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in /boot/config.txt ?


JeremyF

Thanks for the reply.

I tried that with the original distro:
Linux raspberrypi 3.1.9+ #168 PREEMPT Sat Jul 14 18:56:31 BST 2012 armv6l

No joy



I just added the following to the config file with this distro:
Linux raspberrypi 3.1.9+ #272 PREEMPT Tue Aug 7 22:51:44 BST 2012 armv6l


Config file:
#force HDMI output
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive = 2

#Set for 1080p 60hz
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16


Result:
no display on monitor
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by dhackney » Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:07 am
Results of this:


I just added the following to the config file with this distro:
Linux raspberrypi 3.1.9+ #272 PREEMPT Tue Aug 7 22:51:44 BST 2012 armv6l


Config file:
#force HDMI output
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive = 2

#Set for 1080p 60hz
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=16



/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -s
state: HPD high|HDMI mode|HDCP off|composite off (0x12001a), 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, progressive

/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m CEA
Group CEA has 1 modes:
(native) mode 16: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, progressive


/opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 0 modes:
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by LXicon » Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:06 pm
you're beyond what i can help you with, but if you want the results from those commands for a system that works:
Code: Select all
root@raspberrypi:~# /opt/vc/bin/tvservice -s
state: HPD high|HDMI mode|composite off (0x12000a), 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, progressive


root@raspberrypi:~# /opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m CEA
Group CEA has 8 modes:
           mode 1: 640x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 2: 720x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 3: 720x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 4: 1280x720 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 5: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, interlaced
  (native) mode 16: 1920x1080 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 32: 1920x1080 @ 24Hz, progressive
           mode 34: 1920x1080 @ 30Hz, progressive


root@raspberrypi:~# /opt/vc/bin/tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 19 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 5: 640x480 @ 72Hz, progressive
           mode 6: 640x480 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 10: 800x600 @ 72Hz, progressive
           mode 11: 800x600 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 17: 1024x768 @ 70Hz, progressive
           mode 18: 1024x768 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 21: 1152x864 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 28: 1280x800 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 32: 1280x960 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 35: 1280x1024 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 36: 1280x1024 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 39: 1360x768 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 47: 1440x900 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 48: 1440x900 @ 75Hz, progressive
           mode 51: 1600x1200 @ 60Hz, progressive
           mode 58: 1680x1050 @ 60Hz, progressive
maybe that will help you figure it out.
good luck!

--edit--

i notice "HDCP off" in your results.. could that be causing raspberryPi to not use HDMI? (just a guess)
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:50 pm
Location: Toronto
by dom » Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:56 pm
LXicon wrote:i notice "HDCP off" in your results.. could that be causing raspberryPi to not use HDMI? (just a guess)


No, HDCP is a copy protection system (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-bandw ... Protection). You should have that off.

I'd suggest hdmi_safe here:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... put_at_all

Also, if you can swap hdmi lead, display, and/or Pi, it would help narrow it down.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5083
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge
by dhackney » Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:48 pm
dom,

Thanks for the reply and the suggestions.

dom wrote:Also, if you can swap hdmi lead, display, and/or Pi, it would help narrow it down.


Note the "troubleshooting" steps in the OP. I verified the cable and the monitor with multiple other sources.


dom wrote:I'd suggest hdmi_safe here:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... put_at_all


I tried that with the original OS that came with the RasPi.

I booted the current, most recent OS build with the following configs:
    * stock
    * hdmi_safe
    * force monitor native/default mode 16 (1080p/60hz)
    * no config file

Results are here: http://pastebin.com/gY9cLbLe

No joy.

Nothing on the HDMI monitor.
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by diveroli » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:35 pm
My RPi is connected, via active DMI-VGA converter, to a standard Dell monitor (1280x1024px).
The display is very stretched vertically (needed horiz. overscan to became all visible onscreen: this took lots of SD card swapping betw. RPi and PC).

Issuing the necessary commands I found that the edid.dat finds the correct best resolution as above, yet for some reason the RPi is actually displaying 1920x1080: this is the cause of the issue.

In order to solve the issue with hdmi_group= and hdmi_mode= lines, I first found which modes are supported by the monitor, yet, no matter which one I select, when I reboot with the new config.txt, the RPi produces NO display at all!

Conclusion: I would like to be proven wrong but it looks as if, under fairly common setups, the hdmi_group and hdmi_mode lines are to be left unused. The RPi displays the monitor resolution it likes, and the only way the user has to stretch it into the monitor size is to use the overscan commands. The result has awful display ratios and the console output is hardly legible. Pity.
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by diveroli » Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:38 am
Final results. After much web-searching, the only alternative I've found so far is to set hdmi_force_hotplug=1 . Effect is as follows:
1) the hdmi_group= and hdmi_mode= lines are inactive (same as if they had the "#")
2) the display is now fixed at 640x480.
This is fine for console work, but not for the GUI. I can't even play the included Python Games, as they require at least 800x600 px. resolution.

At this stage, therefore, I am left with two alternative solutions:
A) Very high resolution 1920x1080 "stretched", hardly legible console, or
B) Very low resolution 640x480, useless GUI.

Even worse, have not found yet a way to "fast swap". The only way is to edit config.txt and reboot. A bore.

I am sure there must be an easier solution for a situation as common as mine.
Best

Joe

(IT professional with a PhD and 50 years of computer experience, thus unlikely to be completely stupid, though one can never be sure . . . )
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by dhackney » Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:20 pm
diveroli,

I do not share your problem.

My problem is no HDMI output via proven cables onto proven monitors.

Foundation / community:

Is there any trend or noticeable amount of RasPi's that are HDMI DOA?

Is there any warranty data available so that we know whether or not we, as customers, are likely suffering a hardware failure rather than an OS configuration issue?

If this is a SW configuration issue, I'd like to get this sorted out.

If it's a hardware issue, I'd like to get in the queue for a replacement board.

Please advise.
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by Alesbi » Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:42 am
Kind of poor suggestions here that you've most likely already tried. I was going to suggest commenting sections of config.txt, but you seem to have already tried that:
a) Cable working?
b) monitor works with other devies?
c) possible to at least test your Pi with perhaps a neighbours monitor (if that fails too, seems like it's Pi problem)
d) Test the Pi's composite output (don't forget to comment any HDMI forcing sections of your config.txt before trying this)
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:18 pm
by diveroli » Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:08 pm
FINAL LOG AFTER A FEW DAYS OF HARD WORK

My RPI runs under the last Raspbian wheezy, I downloaded and installed DOSBox, I can issue a few commands online, I can see the LXDE GUI and run a few games. Now for the issues:

1) I tried all possible ways to reboot the RPi: none works. Have to sudo halt, wait for everything to shut down, power off, wait a minute, power on again.

2) Tried in many ways to get the correct monitor resolution, but if I specify group and mode in the config.txt lines, no matter how, checked and rechecked, RPi does not boot: so I am stuck with the default 1980x1080, giving me a very stretched almost-illegible text and awful stretched windows in LXDE.

3) Tried in many ways to download not just apps like dosbox, but my folders and files with DOSBOx apps and personal files. First I followed online directions to install krusader, but the RPi cannot find it.

4) So I followed directions in the Debian Help and installed Midnight commander, all successful, nice file manager, but cannot make the FTP part work, it simply does not find my files online, and I cannot find any helpful hint online on this either.

5) So I tried the other way, should be simpler: following directions I setup in my PC in my FTP client an FTP connection, entering the IP address I got from my RPi: error.

6) I used Midori to surf the web: can access only some pages (basically those where the webpage is index.htm), not others: red error again. Hyperlinks do not work. Thus I cannot reach any webpages with files to download.

At this point, frankly, almost nothing works, and most of the solutions suggested online do not work either. I may not be proficient in Raspbian, but I have decades of computer experience with many OSs and languages: I can clearly see that there is no hardware fault anywhere in my installation, just lack of necessary info, and bugs galore with no ways to circumvent them.

I guess I will "play" a little bit more and then give up.

Best luck to those who keep trying.

Joe

Joe
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by Licaon_Kter » Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:24 pm
I'm using a mixed setup here, it just ended up like this: RPi -> HDMI-to-DVI (adapter) -> DVI-to-HDMI (cable) -> monitor, just a thought
BFQ+BFS or RT on a RPi? 4'real: https://github.com/licaon-kter/ (source and compiled!)
User avatar
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:12 am
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
by diveroli » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:17 pm
Mine is RPI -> HDMI-to-VGA (active adapter) -> VGA-to-VGA (cable) -> Monitor.

Some hours later, the only way to download files I have found is to use my PC, copy them to USB key, plug it in the RPi, mount it there and copy from USB key to the SD card. Messy isn't it?
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by Licaon_Kter » Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:49 am
oh I thought you had a normal HDMI connection... maybe that's the issue

try to use a plain HDMI only cable to test
BFQ+BFS or RT on a RPi? 4'real: https://github.com/licaon-kter/ (source and compiled!)
User avatar
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:12 am
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
by diveroli » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:56 pm
Thanks. I could try my TV set with a long HDMI cable which I do have, but is plugged elsewhere. However, the TV ratio is still not 19:10, and anyway both RPi and TV locations are fixed and two far away to be of any practical use.

And of course a high-ratio TV set would only resolve the display issue, not the others.
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by dhackney » Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:54 pm
diveroli & Licaon_Kter

I note that your join dates are recent, so you may not be aware of normal forum best practices, customs, etc.

This forum thread is about a specific problem related to: No HDMI output

When you introduce a completely different topic into a thread, it makes it difficult for the original problem to be discussed, as the 2nd topic gets inter-woven in the exchange.

Additionally, it makes it very difficult for searching in the forum. People searching for a problem with "no HDMI output" are going to find this thread, and then find the original problem, "no HDMI output" mixed up with a completely unrelated problem.

As the forums here mature they will probably have moderators (mods), moderators who would normally move the unrelated topic to a new thread, or strongly suggest that a new thread be started to address it.

If you have a different problem than the thread topic or the original post (OP) of a thread addresses, then it is customary and good forum practice to start a new thread that addresses that different topic.

Injecting an unrelated topic into an ongoing thread, especially one related to solving a specific problem, is not good practice. It is termed "hijacking" a thread.

I am confident that was not your intention in this case, given your recent join dates.

However, in the future, please start new threads for new topics rather than inject an unrelated topic into an ongoing thread.

Thanks
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:32 pm
Location: USA
by diveroli » Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:00 am
I apologise.

Note however that my troubles originated when, trying to get ANY change of resolution away from a default, I got a blank screen, thus "HDMI output".

Anyway, will be more careful from now on.

Best.
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by diveroli » Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:39 am
Solution (to my HDMI output at least):

What the general page on config.txt does not clarify, but
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=5851
does, is that if you select
hdmi_group = 2 (for DMT formats, i.e. for PC monitors)
then you HAVE to "set hdmi_drive = 2 to enable HDMI output".

This change resolved my lack of selection of monitor resolution, and also my hanging of DOSBox if run direct from console.

Best
Joe
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by frkhrd » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:21 am
I tried this on 2 new units both gave no hdmi on a sony tv.

I then connected a composite cable and noticed it was booting to a config screen.

I had not used linux much but worked on hundreds of windows machines. I went ahead and answered the questions for keyboard just put in a 101key I rarely use more than 50 anyway.

i also went to that over scan setting but just left it set off.

i went to the boot to gui and set to yes

that is all I did. I rebooted and hdmi was working then but composite was now off I guess it toggles.


hope this helps you linux guys.
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:11 am
by diveroli » Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:57 am
I see. I am not surprised.
As I wrote last night, my 1280x1024 display via HDMI had been resolved by having only the following active lines in config.txt:

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35
hdmi_drive=2

This morning, however, when I started the RPi, it produced a 640x480 display. Halted, booted, same, all the improvement has been lost. This abnormality is expected if the line hdmi_safe=1 is active, but i then rechecked config.txt: it is not, it is the same as last night, just the RPi for some reason is now behaving differently . It is really discouraging ...
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm
by diveroli » Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:03 pm
Found the - very strange - reason: last night I was using keyboard and mouse plugged USB directly. This morning, in order to read files from a USB stick, I plugged in a (duly powered) USB hub. All the USB devices worked perfectly (including the USB key after manual mount) but, for some reason, plugging in the USB hub is forcing the display to emergency 640x480. I am using a hub that is specifically recommended for the RPi (and had produced no issues so far).
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:20 pm