Pickyree

Pi 3 not booting up on TV but boots up on small touchscreen?

Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:12 am

Hi,

I'm new to all this and have just got my son a Raspberry Pi 3 with a case that houses a small touchscreen and a wireless keyboard.

We've literally just unpacked it and tried to get it going but have fallen at the first hurdle!

So the Pi boots up properly on the small touchscreen but when plugged into a TV on the HDMI output, the display on the TV stops at the booting screen, however it fully boots on the small touchscreen at the same time. When he goes onto Minecraft, a small box appears on the boot screen on the TV (with the boot information still in the background) which displays the Minecraft game.

What we are wanting is for the TV to display the same as the small screen really.

Is there a problem with it?

I've been searching for an answer for the past hour with no luck. I've seen suggestions of the power supply might be inadequate so I've tried a different 2A supply, I've tried it with the small screen unplugged and the wireless keyboard unplugged in case it is drawing too much power for the supply but it just won't boot on the TV screen.

RAZERZ

Re: Pi 3 not booting up on TV but boots up on small touchscr

Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:45 am

Open a terminal and type "sudo rm /boot/config.txt" report back.
Raspberry pi 3 set up as desktop with raspbian.
I guess you can say I am not newbie with linux but I am not a master at it either.
I will always try to help you as much as I can because I know how hard it is to run into problems :D

Pickyree

Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:07 pm

Hi, thanks for your reply, I really am a noobie with all this (in fact I had no idea what a terminal was and have had to look it up!) it's a steep learning curve for me but I am eager to learn.

OK, so I typed that in and got the following

rm: cannot remove '/boot/config.txt': No such file or directory

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:18 pm