Kattungen95

Can't get past login-screen

Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:09 pm

Hello

I wanna start off by saying that i am a beginner with Linux.
I recently got some weird problem where I can't log in from the login-screen but is fine when i login from ssh with the same username and password, what could be the problem?

This started after that I had changed my timezone with Raspi-config. I changed from EU timezone to UTC+1 ( I live in sweden ). I have had some problem before because every time i connect a keyboard it sets it to a EU keyboard layout however i typed my password in the Username section to see if it was right then copy/pasted in into the password section but still wont let me login. using the same username and password from SSH works fine. this prohibit me from finishing my school-project. I have to say i have only had problems with Linux and i am starting to tip all of my hair off :x

lmarmisa

Re: Can't get past login-screen

Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:08 pm

Does your password contain other chars than letters and numbers?.

If there is a problem related to the country of the keyboard layout, you will be unable to login (from the log-in screen) if your password includes chars that are mapped on different keys depending on the specific country selected. By contrast, the letters and numbers are assigned to the same keys on (almost) all keyboards, regardless of country code.

The access by means of ssh has an independent keyboard configuration and it is not affected by the country layout. This could explain the different behavior between ssh and login screen.

If this is your case, establish a connection to your RPi with ssh and change your password (remember, only letters and/or numbers!!!). Type this command:

Code: Select all

passwd

Kattungen95

Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:00 am

lmarmisa wrote:Does your password contain other chars than letters and numbers?.