James_Penrod

Simple Pi Zero WiFi CCTV not so simple after all...

Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:12 pm

I've read the stickies and nothing seems to be quite specific to my set up, but certain elements perhaps. I'm using the newest Raspian, but not NOOBS.

I'm not a programmer, and have even less of an idea on a Linux environment. Here's the basics:

Reading up on Pi Zero and using a webcam, looked like a great way to make a budget Wi-Fi CCTV system, but with HD quality.

What I have:

5mp usb camera
8gb micro s with full Raspian
USB dell keyboard
USB mouse (wal-mart no name)
Micro to standard USB GTO single
HDMI converter (and 6' standard cable)
TWO 1amp USB power supplies and cables
32" LCD monitor
Pi Zero (seemingly unable to recognize keyboard or mouse)

Configuration:

HDMI obviously where it goes
One USB power supply to the Power In (Right Micro USB)
One USB power supply to GTO
GTO plugged into Data USB (Left Micro USB)
Keyboard and Mouse plugged into GTO
(mouse has its own 5v 1amp supply)
SD card mounted.

On Power Up:

Goes through checks, all green 'Ok'
GUI up and ready (and stunning in HD)
Absolutely NO response from keyboard or mouse.
Plug phone into GTO full size USB ports and it starts charging no problem.
Mouse -and- keyboard work just fine on two Windows and one Mac laptop.

W-T-F ?

Do I need to enable the Data USB to use them? Shouldn't that already be done as it doesn't effect any terminal modes or whatnot?

So...help. I can't even begin to set up the Wi-Fi or a camera until I can at least use the GUI or even get to a terminal where I can try and hamfist some code into it.

drgeoff

Re: Simple Pi Zero WiFi CCTV not so simple after all...

Sat Sep 10, 2016 4:46 pm

The USB port supports one device. You need a USB hub if you want to use more than one device.

LeoWhite

Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:15 pm

James_Penrod wrote:I've read the stickies and nothing seems to be quite specific to my set up, but certain elements perhaps. I'm using the newest Raspian, but not NOOBS.