Max_G
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 8:27 am

tightVnc, client does not show menu

Sat May 28, 2016 8:41 am

I have installed a new Pi, with the latest Jessie image.
Created user maxg, with
sudo usermod -a -G users maxg
sudo usermod -a -G sudo maxg
sudo visudo -f /etc/sudoers
sudo service sudo restart

then got tightVNC with
sudo apt-get install tightvncserver
then launched it with:
vncserver :1 -geometry 1920x1080 -depth 24

installed the client on windows 10, can connect to the Pi, BUT:

The menu, which can be seen on top of the Pi's gui screen is missing in the VNC client.
I see a desktop, trash and folder icon, with a raspberry in the middle, but the menu is missing.

How do I get this menu included in the vnc session.

I have read about the various ways on how to install tightvnc, but pulling the app, starting the server, then starting the client seems to be the right steps... what am I missing?

Thank you for your help!
Attachments
150528_RPi_tightVNC_NoMenu.jpg
150528_RPi_tightVNC_NoMenu.jpg (42.33 KiB) Viewed 3403 times

vethno
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 1:39 am

Re: tightVnc, client does not show menu

Sun May 29, 2016 1:41 am

I am having the same problem. VERY frustrating - nothing I have tried has worked.

User avatar
SteveDee
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Sunny Southern England
Contact: Website

Re: tightVnc, client does not show menu

Sun May 29, 2016 5:54 am

The Raspberry should be centre screen, which indicates that the view of the desktop is clipped. Try reducing the geometry (say 1024 x 768 as a starting point).

User avatar
MarkHaysHarris777
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:39 am
Location: Rochester, MN
Contact: Website

Re: tightVnc, client does not show menu

Sun May 29, 2016 6:06 am

SteveDee wrote:The Raspberry should be centre screen, which indicates that the view of the desktop is clipped. Try reducing the geometry (say 1024 x 768 as a starting point).
That is definitely the problem... reduce the geometry and voila!

(another thing you might try is a notebook running Mint gnu+linux ! )
marcus
:ugeek:

Max_G
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 8:27 am

Re: tightVnc, client does not show menu

Sun May 29, 2016 8:29 am

Sorry guys... I cut the rest of the image to make it smaller, as I saw no relevance in the whole picture.
Even starting with tightvncserver :1 did not change the result.

However, I have been spending most of the day with looking for a solution...
... and found one.

this link: http://vandorp.biz/2012/01/installing-a ... 0qbL75PL3g had a solution that worked.

I saved a copy of my ~/.vnc/xstartup

apt-get install xorg lxde-core tightvncserver

# Started VNC to create config file (xstartup)
tightvncserver :1

# Then stopped VNC
tightvncserver -kill :1

# Edited config file to start session with LXDE:

nano ~/.vnc/xstartup

# and added this at the bottom of the file:
lxterminal &
/usr/bin/lxsession -s LXDE &

# start VNC
tightvncserver :1

and this worked... I now have a menu bar!

the complete ~/.vnc/xstartup as follows:
#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey -cursor_name left_ptr
#x-terminal-emulator -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
#x-window-manager &
# Fix to make GNOME work
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
/etc/X11/Xsession
lxterminal &
/usr/bin/lxsession -s LXDE &

Good luck with it. :)

User avatar
scruss
Posts: 2620
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

Re: tightVnc, client does not show menu

Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:12 pm

running x11vnc is much less work, should anyone wish to mirror their Raspberry Pi desktop somewhere else. All I did to install it was sudo apt install x11vnc, then run this on a console:

Code: Select all

x11vnc -forever -bg -usepw -httpdir /usr/share/vnc-java/ -httpport 5901 -display :0
Maybe not exactly your use case, but I quickly came round to it.
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

Return to “Troubleshooting”