CWbyDesign

OS does not boot after power down...

Thu May 19, 2016 6:04 pm

Please help - I am new to Raspberry Pi and struggling.
I have loaded an OS and it all seems to be working fine, but power down and it never re-boots (only with a fresh OS on the SD Card)

What am I doing wrong?

Regards
Carl

ecotec

Re: New to Pi

Thu May 19, 2016 7:18 pm

which os and what do you mean by power down and never restarts?
b raspbian running get-iplayer and mini dlna server
b+ running volumio
pi 2 - dietpi - pihole, ssh and a few other bits

ViaBitz

Thu May 19, 2016 7:19 pm

Hi Carl,

How are you powering down ?
Asking as you might have problems rebooting if you're just switching the power off rather than doing a shutdown !

@ecotec, you beat me to it...

Bee_Steward

Thu May 19, 2016 9:22 pm

My footprints into this RasPi World are still very fresh and I share your teething pain.

The experts will tell you never-Never-NEVER just pull the plug on this unit. You'll likely goober the OS on the SD card and thereafter blow another hour diddling with the NOOBS service. But telling you what NOT to do isn't all that helpful.

In hopes this will help, here's a clip from my Diary -Day #1 (and invite any seasoned users to correct or enhance):

====================

Initial OOB Setup - 2016-04-26
Web Browser Preferences – changed to disable pop-ups, turned ON notification to 'Tell sites I don't want to be tracked', and turned OFF 'Remember Passwords.'

Told Network about local network and its Security Key. Connected Ethernet AND WiFi now apparently working together. Don't yet know which one is really doing the work just now.

Discovered QUOTES key is disabled. Fixed by going into Menu:Preferences:Keyboard and Mouse. Now in US Keyboard mode, not UK.

Examined File Manager – no shovelware! [THANK YOU!!]

WHAT I WANT TO KNOW MOST #1: “How do you stop this thing?”