Corey Goettsch

Getting gamepads to work

Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:19 pm

Hello:

I am interested in turning my pi into an emulation box. I'vemade some good progress so far--I've got retroarch up and running. Thelast piece of the puzzle is getting my gamepad to work. I have a Logitech F510 Rumble Gamepad. It works great on my Ubuntu laptop. However, my raspberry pi won't acknowledge it. I've checked /dev/input, and I've found nothing about my gamepad . Lsusb acknowledges it's plugged in. I looked in the kernel modules, and in the /lib/modules/kernel/3.1.9=/drivers/input/ folder, there is no joystick folder. There is on my ubuntu box. Does this mean I don't have any joystick headers? I've installed both the xboxdrv package and the joystick package. Does anyone have any idea where I should go from here? Do I need to compile some headers for my gamepad? Or is there something else should do? I've only been using linux for a year or so, so I'm a relative noob. I should mention that lsmod on my ubuntu box showed that two modules were at work with this game pad: xpad.ko and ff_memless.ko. I've got ff_memless on the pi, but not xpad.ko. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Corey Goettsch

cpswan

Re: Getting gamepads to work

Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:50 pm

If you download the kernel source then I can confirm that /drivers/input/joystick/xpad.c is there, so it should be a simple case of compiling that into a kernel module.

This thread gives the best blow by blow description of compiling a kernel module I've seen so far (you probably need to follow up to around step 14). I'd suggest copying xpad.c to a separate directory along with Module.symvers and use a Makefile like this:

Code: Select all

obj-m = xpad.o
KVERSION = $(shell uname -r)
all:
        make -C /lib/modules/$(KVERSION)/build M=$(PWD) modules
clean:
        make -C /lib/modules/$(KVERSION)/build M=$(PWD) clean