fabio199618

Strange wifi issues!

Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:15 pm

Good morning/evening to everyone!

I recently bought a raspberry pi 2 along with a pre-imaged NOOBS microsd.
I am a newbie, so i don't know anything about Linux and so, but I would like to learn something, so I purchased the Pi.

After succesfully installing raspbian, I found I wasn't able to connect to wifi (Router zyxel p600 series) by using the edimax n150 wifi adapter.
The network has been recognized by the adapter, but every time I try to connect, after inserting password, the blue light on the adapter turns off.
At first i thought i had missed something during setup, or that i didn' turn on some options, so i checked every possible option but i didn't find anything. Then i thought i had probabily been inserting the wrong password for my network, so i checked it 4 times, but nothing. Then i tried to connect with my galaxy s2 using it as a router, and it worked! I followed the tutorial about wifi issues on the forum and i renamed some lines with terminal, in order to activate auto connection to wifi, but nothing.
I also thought my microsd could have been imaged with an older version of raspbian, so i downloaded again NOOBS installing package from the official site, I cleaned up the sd and re- installed raspbian. With no results.

Nothing works and i don't really know what to do... any suggestions?

Thanks a lot! :D

Shea

Re: Strange wifi issues!

Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:27 pm

The problem seems to be power related. make sure you have a power supply which can more than 1.2 amps of current, and add "max_usb_current=1" to /boot/config.txt.
If you already did that, then describe your hardware, and software setup. Try Jessie lite, and see how it goes...

fabio199618

Thu Jan 14, 2016 6:13 pm

Thank you very much for the help you provided, but unfortunately it didn't work out.

First of all, i have to say i'm using the official RasPi power supply (5V 2000mAh), so i think the problem is not power related.