Page 1 of 1

starting Kodi

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 12:45 pm
by droidus
I am trying to start up kodi. I type "kodi", and it just sits there, and nothing loads. Any ideas how to start Kodi up?

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 1:37 pm
by gkreidl
Which OS? Which kodi version? How did you install it?

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:11 pm
by droidus
sudo apt-get install kodi
Raspbian
How do I get the version of Kodi?

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:17 pm
by fruitoftheloom
droidus wrote:sudo apt-get install kodi
Raspbian
How do I get the version of Kodi?
Raspbian Jessie or Wheezy ??

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:19 pm
by xanthor
Do you have enough graphic memory to run Kodi (at least 128 / 160 MB, ideally 256 MB)? Are you not trying to display Kodi remotely (for example using VNC)? And what exactly do you mean by
it just sits there, and nothing loads

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:18 am
by droidus
fruitoftheloom wrote:
droidus wrote:sudo apt-get install kodi
Raspbian
How do I get the version of Kodi?
Raspbian Jessie or Wheezy ??
Not sure, how do I find out?

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:20 am
by droidus
xanthor wrote:Do you have enough graphic memory to run Kodi (at least 128 / 160 MB, ideally 256 MB)? Are you not trying to display Kodi remotely (for example using VNC)? And what exactly do you mean by
it just sits there, and nothing loads
Not sure - I believe I have the second model. I am using VNC.
And what I mean is when I type kodi, kodi does not start up.

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:26 am
by gkreidl
droidus wrote:
xanthor wrote:Do you have enough graphic memory to run Kodi (at least 128 / 160 MB, ideally 256 MB)? Are you not trying to display Kodi remotely (for example using VNC)? And what exactly do you mean by
it just sits there, and nothing loads
Not sure - I believe I have the second model. I am using VNC.
And what I mean is when I type kodi, kodi does not start up.
kodi doesn't work across VNC, it goes directly to the screen using OpenGL ES. And playing video across VNC connection isn't possible as well.

What do you want to do with kodi, if no Monitor/TV is connected to the RPi?

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:38 am
by droidus
I would like to know if it is possible to install entertainment software (like xmbc) without having to use it as my primary OS.

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:58 am
by fruitoftheloom
droidus wrote:I would like to know if it is possible to install entertainment software (like xmbc) without having to use it as my primary OS.
Install Raspbian Jessie Operating System:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kodi
fyi XBMC has been renamed to KODI

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:16 pm
by droidus
I did this. But I am not sure how to start it up and view it.

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:10 am
by gkreidl
droidus wrote:I did this. But I am not sure how to start it up and view it.
To use kodi as user pi (from the desktop, for example), you have to make some settings in your system. Read the last part of this: viewtopic.php?f=66&t=99866

You should start it from a terminal with "kodi-standalone". If you want to use it from the desktop-file (menu), you should patch the desktop file in'/usr/share/applications' to call kodi-standalone.

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:31 pm
by Woll
If you changed the settings in Raspbian, would
sudo apt-get update,
sudo apt-get upgrade,
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade,
sudo apt-get clean,
Change the setting back? When I first got my Pi I had trouble with Openelec on the same SD card as Raspbian.
So I have a separate for each at the moment, but ideally I want both on the same card again.

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:35 pm
by fruitoftheloom
Woll wrote:If you changed the settings in Raspbian, would
sudo apt-get update,
sudo apt-get upgrade,
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade,
sudo apt-get clean,
Change the setting back? When I first got my Pi I had trouble with Openelec on the same SD card as Raspbian.
So I have a separate for each at the moment, but ideally I want both on the same card again.
I installed KODI 15 from the Raspbian Jessie Repository and it is now a GUI MENU entry, though have not used / configured as yet...........

Re: starting Kodi

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:18 pm
by Woll
On my Pi 2B, running Jessie Raspbian, if I reboot to exit Kodi, it reboots into the desktop again.