another_mikey

Running A Program When openbox loads

Sun Jul 22, 2012 6:47 pm

I am not a sophisticated Linux user, being a Windows programmer by trade. But I have had great fun (up to now) working with my Raspberry Pi. I originally had been using the recommended 'squeeze install but I now have loaded up he new (as of yesterday) Raspbian image and have things about set up. My system is configured to autologin and boot into X. The last thing is to start an application after X is running. I had this working in squeeze after much pain and gnashing. But can't get it to work in the new Raspbian image. I have tried a couple approaches. The current one is referenced here:

http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/howto/a ... t_programs

and seemed very clear on how to implement. The approach is using an autostart file inside the openbox folder inside of ,config, as in :

/home/pi/.config/openbox/autostart

That file attempts to run a script in my home directory called show_Kewl_Pix.sh. The autostart file looks like this:

Code: Select all

# Programs that will run after Openbox has started

# Run my digital picture frame script
(sleep 5s && /home/pi/show_Kewl_Pix) &
The show_Kewl_Pix.sh script looks like this:

#!/bin/sh
feh -z -F -D 20.0 -Y /media/HP\ v125w/Kewl
This is supposed to run the feh image viewer at startup creating a large digital picture frame. The script runs fine is invoked from a terminal window after X has loaded up and the desktop is visible.

I have previously also tried setting up a .desktop file in the .config/autostart directory using this format:

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Exec=/home/pi/show_Kewl_Pix.sh &
which I think is what worked ok in the previous squeeze install, with no luck either. I have seen numerous other references to these and other proposed solutions that I cannot get to work.