rinky451
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

MPG2 >WVC1>codec>[SOLVED]

Fri Mar 06, 2015 1:32 pm

greetings, recentely i bout the Pi2 with the 1gig of ram and the quad core.. need to supply info in case some can help.. I have looked and looked on the forum,, thru say google but there seems to be alot of issues on this but not much for results so let me give info first

I am running on a nobis install this time

I have basically a duel/boot card here with raspbian2015 and OpenElec with KODI

I did buy the codecs from the pi store

say when in raspbian i can run the command sudo nano /boot/config.txt it opens in the terminal to a blank page in the term,, then when i try to add the codecs then hit ctl/x and tney hit y to accept i get a error for it tells me iit is a read only file

now i can go int sudo nano /boot.bak/config.txt and access it. I can install the codecs this way,, hit ctl/x then y and it accepts it.. here is the code i get

Code: Select all

'# For more options and information see
# http://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/config-txt.md# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
and your display can output without overscan
disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
arm_freq=900
decode_MPG2=0
decode_WVC1=0

# NOOBS Auto-generated Settings:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
config_hdmi_boost=4
overscan_left=24
overscan_right=24
overscan_top=16
overscan_bottom=16
disable_overscan=0
core_freq=250
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=2"
now you can see that they are there in the /boot.bak/config.txt toward the bottom where i placed them

yet when i run the command to check to see if they are enabled well here is the code

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ vcgencmd codec_enabled MPG2
MPG2=disabled
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ vcgencmd codec_enabled WVC1
WVC1=disabled
pi@raspberrypi ~ $
so has any body have any info to offer to see if i can get them to enable.. I sent a email back to the pi store yet no response.. seems a shame its only for a few bucks but we should be able to get some more responses here from support or something.. meaning if ur going to sell something then make it work.. I kind of fell like I have been ripped
Last edited by rinky451 on Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DirkS
Posts: 10514
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: MPG2 >WVC1>codec>install error

Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:57 pm

By default config.txt is read only in Openelec.
See http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/Config.txt for info on how to change that.

rinky451
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: MPG2 >WVC1>codec>install error

Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:35 pm

so considering i used noobs this time to install and have raspbian,openElec on the card,, can i do what you are saying with the link thru a duel/boot card or do i have to have OpenElec install on just one card and edit it that say.. I am a little confussed on the issue..

tks for the repsonse

rinky

DirkS
Posts: 10514
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: MPG2 >WVC1>codec>install error

Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:09 pm

rinky451 wrote:so considering i used noobs this time to install and have raspbian,openElec on the card,, can i do what you are saying with the link thru a duel/boot card or do i have to have OpenElec install on just one card and edit it that say.. I am a little confussed on the issue..
How it is installed does not matter. If your start Openelec on the Pi you should be able to log in with SSH from another computer (maybe SSH needs to be enabled in the Openelec settings addon)
Once logged in you follow the instructions I linked to.

With Noobs you can also edit the config file from the Noobs interface (see https://github.com/raspberrypi/noobs#ea ... ile-editor)
I have never used that, so I can't give any more details about that.

rinky451
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: MPG2 >WVC1>codec>install[SOLVED]

Sat Mar 07, 2015 2:45 am

I think i may have figured this issue out since most have tried but are not sure..
1. I had to take the loaded sd card out of the pi

2. had to put the sd card into another machine

3. then i went into gparted and "unmounted" the fat partition

3. then i closed out gparted

4. then i found the partition in my file manager which was the 256.0 MIB partition and went into the config.txt file opened it with my text editor and added the license numbers

Code: Select all

decode_MPG2=0x[REPLACE WITH THE PURCHASED CODEC]
decode_WVC1=0x[REPLACE WITH THE PURCHASED CODEC]
# decode_DTS=0x00000000
# decode_DDP=0x00000000
I did uncomment the 2 lines i put the codes in.. As far as i know it's in the config.txt file and will put it in the pi and see if it boots.. .
maybe i am on to it or maybe not but we will find out, but turthfully i am not impressed with the "Pi Store and their support which has been squat.. If your going to sell a item you should support it and have it already figured instead of taking ur cash, submitting the license codecs and then just leave you hang..

Rinky
now this is not for the duel boot

update 3/17/15 Now these codecs did install and they do preform well with some of the apps thru Kodi that would not play..
-r- :D

Return to “Troubleshooting”