Lipown
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:32 am

Cannot load desktop after last update - *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA

Sun Aug 01, 2021 7:44 am

Hi, I am getting this error in Dmesg and the desktop wont start :( I do not know what to fix it.

Code: Select all

[  +0.109406] [drm:vc4_bo_create [vc4]] *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA:
[  +0.000021] vc4-drm gpu: [drm]                           dumb:   4052kb BOs (1                                                                                                                                                             )

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 19035
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Cannot load desktop after last update - *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA

Sun Aug 01, 2021 8:07 am

How much memory do you have assigned to the GPU? It should be somewhere between 64MB and 256MB. Having higher than that can cause problems. I believe there was a change to how memory is used in a recent update.
Unreadable squiggle

Lipown
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:32 am

Re: Cannot load desktop after last update - *ERROR* Failed to allocate from CMA

Sun Aug 01, 2021 8:39 am

Since almost two years ago I had set it to 512. 256 solved the problem. I hope it is enough. Many thanks!

Return to “Troubleshooting”