Running basic executables?


8 posts
by DuckerDuck » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:03 pm
Hi,
Today I got a RPi and wanted to try and run an gameboy emulator http://www.gcat.org.uk/emul/
After using the make command in the terminal, a wild excecutable appeared. Double clicking on it doesn't seem to work, when I go to properties, the "make file executable" checkmark is checked. Simple google searches didnt really help...
I also compiled a simple C++ app using geany, that executable also didn't start.
I'm running the Debian linux, on a 2GB sd card.
What am I missing?

Thanks,
DuckerDuck
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:56 pm
by andyl » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:30 pm
Why did you try doubleclicking on it?

The web page you linked to states quite clearly how to run it.

Code: Select all
Put the game ROM file that you want to play in the same directory (e.g. tetris.gb)
Run the emulator (./gameboy tetris.gb). They won't work under X Windows yet


So you run it from a terminal. It also says it doesn't work under X Windows - which is the GUI.
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:05 am
by Joe Schmoe » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:45 pm
A lot of people can't imagine any other way to "run" something other than "double clicking" on it.

Myself, I can't imagine any other way to "run" something other than running it from the command line.

Two kinds of people in the world...
Python is a wonderful language - that everybody should use all the time.
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by jamesh » Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:59 pm
I must be both kinds then.....
Volunteer at the Raspberry Pi Foundation, helper at Picademy September, October, November 2014.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 13686
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by DuckerDuck » Wed Jun 27, 2012 3:36 pm
sorry about that, obviously missed that one.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:56 pm
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:17 am
jamesh wrote:I must be both kinds then.....

I'm sure we can make an exception for you JamesH :D
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
by andyl » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:31 am
DuckerDuck wrote:sorry about that, obviously missed that one.


Generally it depends on where the output is going.

If your program uses stdout (and stderr) - for example the Hello World example - you can't just start them using the GUI - what is stdout in a GUI? You have to run a terminal then run the program from the prompt.

I would have thought that the emulator would be using some kind of graphics - so maybe it is writing directly to the framebuffer.
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:05 am
by AndrewS » Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:07 am
Even for GUI programs, it's much easier (in the early stages of development) to just read a bunch of arguments from the command line, than it is to build a fully-fledged "options/settings" UI ;)
User avatar
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK