arj

Sound in Debian

Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:47 pm

Are there any plans to enable sound in the next Debian release? I notice the 19-04-2012 release does not seem to support sound by default, and when loaded manually it fails to work with apps such as Scratch.

Andrew

texy
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Sound in Debian

Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:38 pm

Various male/female 40- and 26-way GPIO header for sale here ( IDEAL FOR YOUR PiZero ):
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=93&t=147682#p971555

arj

Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:42 pm

Yes that's how I got it partially working (although not in Scratch). I'm new to Linux but have a great deal of windows experience. I sat down with my young kids this afternoon to play with our new Pi. Scratch is great and in minutes my 5 year old 'got' it and had great fun...except the sound did not work. The kids love the sounds in scratch more than anything else, it's a real shame it's so tricky to get it working. Try explaining it to a 5 year old who can happy turn it on and do everything else.

To be successful stuff like sound needs to work out of the box first time. I'd also like the machine to login automatically and launch the UI. These little things are critical so non-techies have a great first exprience, otherwise they will give up and go back to their x boxes and Wii's.

I'm sure the Linux experts love the power and flexibility of the current approach but the first few minutes are absolutely critical to keep the attention of beginners. The initial login, typing startx and lack of sound support will be major hurdles as more beginners start having a go. I know I'll be getting a load of 'support' calls on this from all the friends and family come to me for IT help.

Andrew

asb
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:12 pm

Hi Andrew, sound is enabled by default in this test release http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =50&t=8071

AndrewS

Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:16 pm