How can I learn Linux?

12 posts
by Paul_griff » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:04 pm
I have had my raspberry pi for quite some time now and not done a great deal with it but really want to try and make some interesting projects with it using the gpio pins .
I have come to realise that I really need to be learning how to use Linux as a total beginner so can anyone out there recommend the best way ie a specific book or website

Thanks
Apologies for all the stupid questions!
by hexelpdkk » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:49 pm
What do you want to learn about linux? Obviously, google is your friend here.

I would start with a basic understanding of the command line. This site http://www.ee.surrey.ac.uk/Teaching/Unix/, tutorial one to six, looked nice and simple.

If you want to do something with GPIO, what language do you want to use? If you want to use python, there are libraries out there to make it easy - wiringPI for example

Also, make sure you look through all the back issues of the MagPI http://www.themagpi.com/ These are an easy read, and lots of tutorials.

And finally, why not get a copy of the official Raspberry Pi User Guide by Eben Upton and Gareth Halfacree.
by Mobius » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:55 pm
I'm in the same boat even though I made a living writing software. Never used Linux before the Pi. As was mentioned, there are several good resources on the web but you can also pick up an older copy (less expensive) of a Linux book on eBay or elsewhere. I got one called Debian GNU/Linux for Dummies pretty cheap. As for Pi specific Linux, the Raspberry Pi User Gudie by Eben Upton and Gareth Halfacree is usefull as well.
by tonyhughes » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 pm
My advice is bookmark this page:

search.php?search_id=newposts

And read every new post that comes along for a month.

That will give you a good foundation of actual useful real-world Linux knowledge.