Getting Started with the Raspberry Pi


234 posts   Page 2 of 10   1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10
by Phodor » Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:38 pm
Greetings!

For those without a HDMI or RCA capable display:

I managed to get the Rpi's screen through a WinFast TV2000 XP Global tuner card and WinFast PVR2. The quality is not quite the best, but still more than nothing.
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit.
User avatar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Hungary
by JeremyF » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:33 pm
Phodor wrote:Greetings!

For those without a HDMI or RCA capable display:

I managed to get the Rpi's screen through a WinFast TV2000 XP Global tuner card and WinFast PVR2. The quality is not quite the best, but still more than nothing.


In generic terms: TV Tuners for computers work as display outputs as well
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by rotciv » Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:58 am
Hi Everyone, I'm a first time forum user, but established pc assembler and repairer. I have received my RP and having connected the HDMI cable from it to my monitor and powered up, I expected to see some output on my screen, but there is none. Is there no output, because there is no BIOS or does an SD card need to be plugged in to complete the circuit.

Victor.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:20 am
by colin B » Sun Jun 17, 2012 2:10 am
rotciv wrote:Is there no output, because there is no BIOS or does an SD card need to be plugged in to complete the circuit.

Victor.


Correct, the Pi doesn't have a BIOS it relies on bootstrap code built into the SoC which looks for an SD Card from which to boot.

The SD card of course needs to have an OS already on it, so you'll need to download one of the Pi distributions, image it to the SD card (using WinDiskImager for Windows or DD for Linux systems) and then away you go (hopefully).
On a clear disk one can seek forever
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:23 pm
by runnerbeany » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:57 pm
I have a problem, im 9 years old and i need help trying to install. Can someone quote me and say a link to a video for COMPLETE videos? I have had it since Monday 16th of June, and I haven't even used it. SOOO, I will await your reply!


Runner :D
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:50 pm
by hiveda » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:09 pm
runnerbeany wrote:I have a problem, im 9 years old and i need help trying to install. Can someone quote me and say a link to a video for COMPLETE videos? I have had it since Monday 16th of June, and I haven't even used it. SOOO, I will await your reply!


Runner :D

You didn't use your Rpi for 3 days ?! Shame on you ;-)

I would suggest this link; http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Hub but if you already have the necessary HW, you could start with http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup and http://elinux.org/RPi_Beginners
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:26 pm
by JeremyF » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:16 pm
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by mremmers » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:50 am
One simple question. Why is the image I downloaded, not a multiple of 512 bytes?
The image is: 1,950,000,000 bytes (debian6-19-04-2012.img).
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:46 am
by radio_cosmo » Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:19 pm
Hi all - just to comment on the power supply requirements in the previous posts, the first thing the 5v input goes into is a 3.3v voltage regulator. If you look at the corner with the USB input, the 'can' is a capacitor, then the square block with the tab on the top and the two pins is the regulator. The part is a Samsung SE8117T33 3.3volt regulator. From the specification sheet, maximum input voltage 9v.
USB chargers will give 5v so stick to that and make sure you have .7 or more Amps current and you will be fine. Im going for minimum profile so soldering wires under the board and feeding to a home built regulator that can provide 5V at 1 amp (just a7805 regulator....) but can accept 12v input. Going to integrate my 'Pi into a clothing based wearable computer platform. Have Phun out there!
~Mike~
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:17 am
by chulek » Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:36 pm
My BlackBerry charger reads:

Input: 100-240V ~ 150mA 50-60Hz
10-20VA

Output: 5V-700mA

Can I use it with my RasPi? Also, what does 10-20VA mean?
I'm sorry to ask all this, but I'm a total beginner in this matters...
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:43 pm
by chulek » Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:13 pm
I cannot find the option to edit my previous comment, so I post a new one (sorry to the mod if I'm doing something wrong here): in case that phone charger works, is it enough to power the keyboard, the mouse, and the Belkin USB hub that sells RS?

Well, now I can edit :? That's weird, in my previous post I couldn't see the option...
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:43 pm
by Tigs1962 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:21 pm
mahjongg wrote:P.S. I think the "programming the SD-Card" task might be underestimated, what I have seen requires the use of the command line tool "DD", its not easy at all, and if you do it wrong the PI won't boot up! Living you in the dark (literally).

There should be a simple GUI program created that does the task in a foolproof way, because "fools" (that is adults, I trust little kids to do this fine) will also try to do this.

Its about time that someone starts selling pre-programmed SD-cards.


I wanted to buy a Pre-programmed card, but there were none in stock.
Before you actually program your SD-Card, you are advised on the Video Tutorial and on the Website to use a program called SHA-1.exe to check that your program download is correct.
Unfortunately this is NOT an easy task, because there are already variations between the online video, the Wiki pages, the Website and even the downloads that you get from the website. Obviously everything is at an early stage, but these sorts of mistakes will make it all the harder for real "Absolute Begginers"
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 3:11 pm
Location: Portsmouth, UK
by solid » Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:18 pm
mahjongg wrote:P.S. I think the "programming the SD-Card" task might be underestimated, what I have seen requires the use of the command line tool "DD", its not easy at all, and if you do it wrong the PI won't boot up! Living you in the dark (literally).

There should be a simple GUI program created that does the task in a foolproof way, because "fools" (that is adults, I trust little kids to do this fine) will also try to do this.

Its about time that someone starts selling pre-programmed SD-cards.



I agree that loading the SD card could be difficult. For me, using Win7, my preference is:
to load an OS on the SD , use win32diskimager
To regain the space on the SD and go back to the default, use HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool


Google should be able to locate the files. Both very simple to operate, clear GUI, and small files.
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 4:29 pm
by sasman20 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:56 pm
Hello, Im struggling to set up the Raspberry Pi, I have used the win32 imager to create an image but it wont boot or give a display and the ms dos prompt has been flashing away for 20 minutes?

Please advise

abishur wrote:Until we get a much fancier version I wanted to provide this rough and dirty guide to plugging in your Raspberry Pi and start enjoying it!

First you have your R-Pi



Arrange your board to look like the photo and let's get connecting!

On the bottom "edge" in the middle of the board is the HDMI Type A (Full sized) port.  Just connect any HDMI cable from the board to your TV for video and audio

If you don't have an HDMI port you can use the yellow phono jack (RCA Jack for those who call it that) located in the middle of the "top" edge and the 3.5 mm stereo headphone jack to the right of it.

Plug a USB keyboard and mouse into the USB slots located on the right edge.  You can also plug a wifi adapter into the USB slot for wireless internet access

Just under the USB ports on the right edge is the ethernet connector for anyone who wants to plug the R-Pi into a wired network.

On the underside of the board on the left edge is a spot to put your full sized SD card (or micro SD card in a full-sized adapter ) Make sure to visit the downloads page to get the Operating System to use with the Raspberry Pi and instructions on how to put it on the card (FYI, you can not just copy and paste .  At the moment I recommend the Debian option, but don't be afraid to download all three and test them out for yourself!


Finally, at the very bottom of the left edge is the micro usb power connector.  Plug a power supply that is rated at 5V and at least 700mA (or 0.7A).  Any number bigger than 700 mA (like 1A) will work, but it *has* to be 5V

Not sure if you have a micro usb? Here's an easy picture to tell the difference



The miniUSB (on the left) is the wrong one. It’s larger and looks like a trapezoid with its sides pinched in.  The microUSB (on the right) is the correct one.  It is smaller and also looks like a trapezoid except it’s sides are rounded outward.

Once the R-Pi finishes loading, you'll need to put in your user name and password (this information is also located on the downloads page).  To get into the familiar graphical user interface (GUI) type "startx" without the quotes once you have logged in.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:44 pm
by sasman20 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:49 pm
Hello

I have got my pi setup now but what do I enter as the login?

Thanks
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:44 pm
by sasman20 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:52 pm
Hello

I have now managed to get logged in. What do i do next?

Thanks
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:44 pm
by JeremyF » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:25 pm
type startx or if you are familiar with the linux command line, type commands.
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by Inventivepanzer » Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:08 pm
Done all as you said, but 3 things:

The test is slightly overlapping the edge of the screen, so I am missing a bit of the logo.
Everything is in black and white (logo)
It starts loading, but then i get the message: "panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(179.2)#
(Note: due to the screen overlap, there is a word before panic that I can't read.

If you could help, I would really appreciate it!
Thanks!

(PS:using RCA video output to an old (Colour) TV)
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:42 pm
by Dietmar » Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:45 pm
Hi all, today my Raspberry Pi arrives:-).
I am just writing this from Raspberry. I bought a Sandisk 16 GB class 10 card SDSDU-016G-U46.
There I put the image of Debian Wheezy on it with Winhex. Then I put this card in, connect USB mouse, USB tastatur, connect an HDMI cable and an USB micro cable with USB wall charger ISY IPH 2000 from Mediamarkt and Internetcable RJ45. Thats all.
This all lasts less than 15 min.
Now I make a try with Qemu and XP :-).
It is fast, but I miss the Flash-Player,
greetings from Germany,
Dietmar

PS: No sound..
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:43 pm
by CCitizenTO » Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:39 am
chulek wrote:My BlackBerry charger reads:

Input: 100-240V ~ 150mA 50-60Hz
10-20VA

Output: 5V-700mA

Can I use it with my RasPi? Also, what does 10-20VA mean?
I'm sorry to ask all this, but I'm a total beginner in this matters...


Focus on the Input and Output... Also VA sounds like it might have been VAC (AC Voltage) Or that it lists the high end below so it'd be like 100-110 VAC and 240-260 VAC...

In the end as long as the resulting output is 5V 700mA-1.2mA it should work perfectly fine. Even if your power supply took 10,000,000VAC and 5000A as long as it spit out 5v 700mA it'd work not that I reccomend people working with that much volts or amps ;) typical plug connections in North America are 100-110VAC and would supply 15 Amps assuming building code is being followed.
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 2:14 am
by MarcusHeap » Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:39 am
Hi,

Just ordered and paid for my RP-B and looking at SD Cards.

I was looking at 16gb or 32 gb but not sure what is best.

Does any brand work better with the Pi?

Regards,

Marcus
Regards,

Marcus Heap
marcus@marcusheap.com
www.marcusheap.com
www.iWich.com
User avatar
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: UK
by JeremyF » Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:23 am
MarcusHeap wrote:Hi,

Just ordered and paid for my RP-B and looking at SD Cards.

I was looking at 16gb or 32 gb but not sure what is best.

Does any brand work better with the Pi?

Regards,

Marcus

http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... g_SD_Cards
{sig} Setup: Original version Raspberry Pi (B, rev1, 256MB), Dell 2001FP monitor (1600x1200), 8GB Class 4 SD Card with Raspbian and XBMC, DD-WRT wireless bridge
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:06 pm
by jrraines » Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:30 pm
The title of the topic seems appropriate although the discussion seems to revolve around other issues. I am trying to install the downloaded .img onto the SD card with my mac, following the instructions at http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup. It seems like the SD card is either not mounted or is 'busy':
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 331Gi 220Gi 61% /
devfs 188Ki 188Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
/dev/disk1s2 27Mi 16Mi 11Mi 60% /Volumes/Silverlight
then I insert the SD card and rerun df -h
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 336Gi 215Gi 62% /
devfs 190Ki 190Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
/dev/disk1s2 27Mi 16Mi 11Mi 60% /Volumes/Silverlight
/dev/disk2s1 15Gi 11Gi 4.1Gi 73% /Volumes/EOS_DIGITAL
so my SD card is mounting at /dev/disk2
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
Password:
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Resource busy
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Resource busy
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil eject /dev/rdisk2
Disk /dev/rdisk2 ejected
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ sudo dd bs=1m if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/rdisk2
dd: /dev/rdisk2: Operation not supported
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2 551Gi 332Gi 219Gi 61% /
devfs 186Ki 186Ki 0Bi 100% /dev
/dev/disk0s4 56Gi 16Gi 40Gi 29% /Volumes/leopard
/dev/disk0s5 88Gi 50Gi 38Gi 57% /Volumes/SnowLeop
map -hosts 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /net
map auto_home 0Bi 0Bi 0Bi 100% /home
localhost:/3tmDCdn5wEJ_8aimKsTmoZ 551Gi 551Gi 0Bi 100% /Volumes/MobileBackups
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:18 pm
by jrraines » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:56 pm
I looked at http://www.embeddedarm.com/support/faqs.php?item=10 and did this:
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *750.2 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Mc750-XT 591.9 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
4: Apple_HFS leopard 60.0 GB disk0s4
5: Apple_HFS SnowLeop 94.9 GB disk0s5
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *16.1 GB disk2
1: DOS_FAT_32 RASPI 16.1 GB disk2s1
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ diskutil unmountDisk /dev/disk2
Unmount of all volumes on disk2 was successful
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$ dd if=~/Downloads/debian6-19-04-2012/debian6-19-04-2012.img of=/dev/disk2
3808593+1 records in
3808593+1 records out
1950000000 bytes transferred in 2578.867473 secs (756146 bytes/sec)
Macintosh-4:~ raine001$

Haven't tried to boot it up yet but it looks like that copied files to the SD card.
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:18 pm
by joe wraith » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:33 pm
Thanks. :D
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:55 am