HurrDurrPotato

Wht is THE largest class 10 SD card you got working?

Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:52 pm

I know there are a lot of 32GB class 10 SD cards, but are there 64GB cards you have got working?

RaspConnect

Re: Wht is THE largest class 10 SD card you got working?

Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:59 pm

A list of SD cards tested with the RPi are at http://elinux.org/RPi_SD_cards which does include Class 10 64gb sd cards
www.RaspberryConnect.com - Raspberry Pi projects & guides and web view of the Raspbian package lists.

71chevellejohn

Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:07 am

I've got a 64GB Lexar SDXC Platinum II 200x Class 10 that does not appear to work. I am very new to this so I was not sure if it was something I was doing wrong. But then took the same NOOBS load and put it on a 4GB class 4 and it is working flawlessly.

rdb

Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:50 am

[Edited with updated info]
The current generation of SDXC cards which are SD3.0 should work on the Pi, however to address above 32GB in a single partition, it will need to be formatted as exFAT (or ext4/3).

Having a single FAT boot partition of less than 32Gb with the remainder if the volume being used by an ext4 rootfs partition should work for standalone Raspbian.

If you want to use the card for NOOBS it will need to be reformatted to FAT (not exFAT) as this is a requirement for the bootloader. NOOBS then repartitions the card itself so the entire volume will be used with only the initial (<32GB) partition being FAT.

jbeale

Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:43 pm

[UPDATED]
rdb wrote:Our hardware experts tell me that we don't have an SDXC SD4.0 controller so are limited to only using current generation SDXC (SD3.0) cards.
Oops! I guess this 128 GB card was a waste of money then:
Lexar SDXC 128 ? LSD128CTBNA400 UHS-I AdamGreenblatt 12 Aug 2012
http://elinux.org/RPi_SD_cards#SD_cards