swissyellow

Total beginner in tears at Wifi set up (solved)

Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:58 pm

I'm in bits here.

Raspberry Pi purchased as my daughter and I want to learn, we're total beginnners, Enthusiastic but blundering into the unknown.

I have a BT infinity Home up downstairs.

I purchased a Raspberry Pi.
This
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008 ... 04_s00_i00
this
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B009 ... 02_s00_i00
and this
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001 ... 01_s00_i00

I've followed tutorials and forums from all over the world on how to edit the wpa config.

I have no joy, all I get is rt2x00lib_request firmware failed to request.

We have to connect WiFI as we can't take an ethernet cable up to her room, it's too far.

My daughter's in tears, I'm in bits ready to throw the thing in the bin! please help someone. where the heck do we start? the forums on the topic just turn us round and we're so confused.

ahstwin

Re: Total beginner in tears at Wifi set up

Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:24 pm

Isn't there a tool on the desktop for wifi set up? It should be fairly user friendly if you haven't given it a go yet

joan

Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:36 pm

What does work? Have you got a usable screen and keyboard on the Pi?

swissyellow

Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:50 pm

Yes, Pi works fine. everything except networking. I've now driven to friends house and have plugged it into an Ethernet cable and following this.

http://dembtech.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/ ... ry-pi.html

poing

Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:58 pm

If you type 'startx' after you started the Pi (and logged in) you see an icon with two rings on the desktop called WiFi Config. Doubleclick that icon and then you should see the dongle as Adapter.

swissyellow

Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:05 pm

OK, so Wicd installed. internet works wired.

Got home, Wicd scans and doesn't find the network.

Any ideas? help!

swissyellow

Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:07 pm