charyshiv
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:09 pm

Using GPIOs 14 and 15 also?

Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:18 pm

Hi All,

I am trying to use all 17 gpios, but pins GPIO 14 & 15 are assigned to the alternate function UART0. Could you please help me how to switch back to GPIO and disable UART0?

Thanks,

Regards,
Shiva.

User avatar
joan
Posts: 14077
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: Using GPIOs 14 and 15 also?

Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:32 pm

I think it's probably as simple as setting the pin modes to an INPUT or an OUTPUT. You'll probably want to remove references to /dev/ttyAMA0 from /boot/cmdline.txt and /etc/inittab as well (/dev/ttyAMA0 is the device for that uart).

charyshiv
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:09 pm

Re: Using GPIOs 14 and 15 also?

Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:13 pm

Thanks a lot. It is working fine. I can use all 17 gpios now. :)

Shiva.

eatenbyagrue
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:06 pm

Re: Using GPIOs 14 and 15 also?

Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:25 am

Thanks for this - removing the console references totally fixed my problem as well.

Return to “Beginners”