stan_the_man
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 11:32 pm

using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:53 pm

Hi ALL
totally new to all this stuff so p[lease bear with me. I purchased a rpi400 and have been trying to use my 23 inch acer display with it. The display has a VGA and a DVI port It is a G236HL model. So far, all I get is a no signal message when I try to use the dvi port. I haven't found a cable that would let me go from the pi400 to a vga port. I bought a HDMI to DVI converter and used that but still can't get the monitor to work with the pi400. I tried a few things in the config.txt module but so far nothing has worked. I recently read that the pi does not get a grounded signal from the monitor so it won't work. Can someone get this poor soul some guidance. stan

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 14737
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Fri Feb 05, 2021 1:26 am

First, the good news...that's a 1920x1080 display, so its native resolution *isn't* the specific one that gives Pi4s problems.

In order to us VGA, you need an *active* HDMI to VGA converter.

I'm surprised that the DVI input isn't working as I've never had problems with that on any Pi/monitor combination I've used. Make sure your cables are seated completely into their sockets (that can take a bit of doing on the Pi4 microHDMI conectors). don't use force, just be firm about it.

The only other thing that comes to mind is that when I looked at the monitor specs, it said "DVI-in" without specifying DVI-D, DVI-A or both. HDMI really needs to go to a DVI-D connection.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 26825
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Fri Feb 05, 2021 1:46 am

stan_the_man wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:53 pm
Hi ALL
totally new to all this stuff so p[lease bear with me. I purchased a rpi400 and have been trying to use my 23 inch acer display with it. The display has a VGA and a DVI port It is a G236HL model. So far, all I get is a no signal message when I try to use the dvi port. I haven't found a cable that would let me go from the pi400 to a vga port. I bought a HDMI to DVI converter and used that but still can't get the monitor to work with the pi400. I tried a few things in the config.txt module but so far nothing has worked. I recently read that the pi does not get a grounded signal from the monitor so it won't work. Can someone get this poor soul some guidance. stan

Not all HDMi-DVi adaptors are created equal, I always use a HDMi-DVi Cable

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32856563897.html
The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machines: ChromeBox
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32966393971.html
& Stone Desktop Intel CoreDuo circa 2010

User avatar
Gavinmc42
Posts: 5638
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:31 am

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Sat Feb 27, 2021 6:41 am

My Pi's have never met a DVI monitor they didn't like.
I suspect it is cable, adapter or even the monitor menu config issue.
Having have spare cables n adapters for testing is handy.
Sometimes it can be a config.txt change that will fix things.

Try another monitor/cable first.
I'm dancing on Rainbows.
Raspberries are not Apples or Oranges

David_R
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:05 am

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:08 am

Hello,

I am having similar issues. I am using an Acer G225HQV which is displaying my Pi 3B+ quite happily but will not display the Pi400.

Any ideas, please?

drgeoff
Posts: 11927
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:48 pm

David_R wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:08 am
Hello,

I am having similar issues. I am using an Acer G225HQV which is displaying my Pi 3B+ quite happily but will not display the Pi400.

Any ideas, please?
The 3B+ has an HDMI socket whereas the 400 has micro-HDMIs. The 3B+ has a micro-USB socket for power input whereas the 400 has a USB-C socket. So there is more to the difference between the two setups than just the changeover between 3B+ and 400. Also the 400 requires a more recent set of files on the boot medium than a 400.

You have written nothing about any of the above points.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

KeithMck
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 10:58 am

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon Apr 26, 2021 6:10 pm

To use a VGA monitor with a 4B &/or 400, I use these short adapter cables from The Pi Hut; I use it with a 19" SXGA monitor normally. 8-)

https://thepihut.com/collections/raspbe ... ga-adaptor

David_R
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:05 am

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon May 03, 2021 2:47 pm

drgeoff wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:48 pm
David_R wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:08 am
Hello,

I am having similar issues. I am using an Acer G225HQV which is displaying my Pi 3B+ quite happily but will not display the Pi400.

Any ideas, please?
The 3B+ has an HDMI socket whereas the 400 has micro-HDMIs. The 3B+ has a micro-USB socket for power input whereas the 400 has a USB-C socket. So there is more to the difference between the two setups than just the changeover between 3B+ and 400. Also the 400 requires a more recent set of files on the boot medium than a 400.

You have written nothing about any of the above points.
Sorry, why does the different power connector make a difference?

Is the native video signal from a Pi400 different to that on a Pi 3B+? I know the connectors on the boards are different but one machine works and the other doesn’t so I don’t see the point of your post, or am I missing something?

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 2906
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon May 03, 2021 3:41 pm

Hardware is different when comparing Pi3 to Pi4/Pi400/CM4.
EDID processing is different as well, so one thing you want to try is to use legacy graphics driver (the ine which is used on Pi3 by default, Pi4 and others using the same SOC use FKMS by default).

Comment below line in your config.txt and let us know if your display+adapter is working.
Change

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d
to

Code: Select all

#dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d

David_R
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:05 am

Re: using an acer vga/dvi display for a pi 400 having issues

Mon May 17, 2021 8:23 pm

Hello.

Sorry for the huge delay but that solved the problem.

Thank you

Return to “Raspberry Pi 400”