Problem with Raspbian PIXEL and the official 7" Touch Screen

The official Raspbery Pi touch display

19 posts
by yannbenarosch » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:12 am
Hi,

I have several Raspberry PI 3 Model B that I use for a kiosk service, with the official 7" Touch Screen Display attached.

I have recently updated Raspbian to PIXEL, and I'm facing issues with the screen calibration : the mouse cursor roughly switch to the right when I try to click on the left part of the screen. This is a problem for our clients that need to enter a private code on a virtual keyboard.

After some research, I found on this topic that the screen resolution can be the problem if not correctly set.
In fact, the resolution is set to 720x480 instead of 800x400.

I tried to set overscan to "disabled" as suggested in the topic, but after rebooting many times, the overscan option is still set to "disabled" but the screen resolution remains to 720x480, and I cannot select the correct one (800x400) in raspi-config.
Other resolutions are offered : 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x720, 1280x1024, 1600x1200 and 1920x1080.

Thanks by advance for your help
Yann,
Everone Solutions
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:49 am
by runboy93 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:42 am
How much it cost?

Resolution is just 800x480 by default... you get actual monitor from banggood which has 8-inch, 1024x768, HDMI, speakers.

https://www.banggood.com/ESCAM-T08-8-in ... 34366.html (be fast, only 1 piece left!) after the sale, cost 100 dollars.
RPi 3 tweaks by runboy93
https://pastebin.com/raw/TBzXDUp0
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:17 pm
Location: Finland
by alphanumeric » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:25 pm
Just checked mine and it is also set to 720x480? The stated specs for that screen say it should be at 800 x 480 https://www.raspberrypi.org/products/raspberry-pi-touch-display/ I also don't see a 800 x 480 option in the list? So now what?
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by elkberry » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:18 pm
How did you check the resolution? Using raspi-config gives wrong information, as has been documented already in this subforum. If you would check using xdpyinfo then you would get 800x480. Also, when cloning the display buffer using a tool like raspi2raspi you would see that the LCD display is run at 800x480.
From ZX81 to Raspberry Pi, but wait ... where's the 7805 gone?
User avatar
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:21 pm
by alphanumeric » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:52 pm
Ok, so the official OS, for the Official display, gives false info on screen resolution?
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by DirkS » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:58 pm
alphanumeric wrote:Ok, so the official OS, for the Official display, gives false info on screen resolution?

Where exactly do you see the wrong resolution?
Everywhere I look I see the correct info (e.g. tvservice)
Posts: 6943
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK
by alphanumeric » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:07 pm
Raspberry Pi Configuration > Preferences > System > Set Resolution. It says "Default 720 x 480", and there is no option to set it to 800 x 480 in the selection menu. I think most people would take that to mean it is currently set to 720 x 480.
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by DougieLawson » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:46 am
alphanumeric wrote:Raspberry Pi Configuration > Preferences > System > Set Resolution. It says "Default 720 x 480", and there is no option to set it to 800 x 480 in the selection menu. I think most people would take that to mean it is currently set to 720 x 480.

You get that same [wrong] answer from the tvservice -s command.
Code: Select all
pi@challenger:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x40001 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.00Hz, interlaced
pi@challenger:~$


I've created https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/issues/827 for that.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
User avatar
Posts: 28160
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by elkberry » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:45 pm
It even says "interlaced", not that this seem to make any sense, unless that's what the old analog composite connector will spit out?

While the LCD isn't exactly 16:9, it's close enough for many purposes, such as using in HD or FullHD video; but it's definitely not 4:3.
From ZX81 to Raspberry Pi, but wait ... where's the 7805 gone?
User avatar
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:21 pm
by DougieLawson » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:25 am
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
User avatar
Posts: 28160
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by runboy93 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:34 am
DougieLawson wrote:Looks like https://github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-firmware/ ... e9557436e1 has fixed this.

Hmm, interesting. But let's wait year until we get stable there, reason why I paid more for actual monitor and not bought these touch screens.

Code: Select all
sudo vcdbg log msg
vcgencmd dispmanx_list
RPi 3 tweaks by runboy93
https://pastebin.com/raw/TBzXDUp0
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:17 pm
Location: Finland
by alphanumeric » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:24 pm
What I want to know is, is it at 800 x 480 or 720 x 480? And what is Raspberry Pi configuration showing? The HDMI, which isn't in use, or the DSI?
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by DirkS » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:19 pm
alphanumeric wrote:What I want to know is, is it at 800 x 480 or 720 x 480? And what is Raspberry Pi configuration showing? The HDMI, which isn't in use, or the DSI?

Code: Select all
pi@raspi3b:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x400000 [LCD], 800x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive
Posts: 6943
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK
by alphanumeric » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:26 pm
DirkS wrote:
alphanumeric wrote:What I want to know is, is it at 800 x 480 or 720 x 480? And what is Raspberry Pi configuration showing? The HDMI, which isn't in use, or the DSI?

Code: Select all
pi@raspi3b:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x400000 [LCD], 800x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive



Humor a noob, but why is that any more accurate, versus any other way of checking it? And why did Dougie Lawson's show 720 x 480? For the record mine shows 800 x 480. My screen is one of the original version 1's.
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by DirkS » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:29 pm
alphanumeric wrote:
DirkS wrote:
alphanumeric wrote:What I want to know is, is it at 800 x 480 or 720 x 480? And what is Raspberry Pi configuration showing? The HDMI, which isn't in use, or the DSI?

Code: Select all
pi@raspi3b:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x400000 [LCD], 800x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive



Humor a noob, but why is that any more accurate, versus any other way of checking it? And why did Dougie Lawson's show 720 x 480? For the record mine shows 800 x 480. My screen is one of the original version 1's.

Well, tvservice is part of the RPF sofware bundle and it gives the correct info for my screen. But then any new bug / feature in the firmware could result in incorrect output.
Posts: 6943
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK
by alphanumeric » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:42 pm
DougieLawson wrote:
alphanumeric wrote:Raspberry Pi Configuration > Preferences > System > Set Resolution. It says "Default 720 x 480", and there is no option to set it to 800 x 480 in the selection menu. I think most people would take that to mean it is currently set to 720 x 480.

You get that same [wrong] answer from the tvservice -s command.
Code: Select all
pi@challenger:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x40001 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.00Hz, interlaced
pi@challenger:~$


I've created https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/issues/827 for that.


Dougie, you didn't happen to accidentally change the resolution in the Raspberry Pi Configuration menu? I was carful to click cancel. I'm just wondering what happens if somebody made the mistake of actually changing the resolution in the set resolution menu? On purpose or accidentally, there is no 800 x 480 to go back too? Just curious why your s says 720 x 480 and mine says 800 x 480?
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by alphanumeric » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:47 pm
@DirkS Thanks for the reply. I'm a Linux noob, so I don't know the ins and outs of those type of commands.
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm
by DougieLawson » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:22 pm
alphanumeric wrote:
DirkS wrote:
alphanumeric wrote:What I want to know is, is it at 800 x 480 or 720 x 480? And what is Raspberry Pi configuration showing? The HDMI, which isn't in use, or the DSI?

Code: Select all
pi@raspi3b:~$ tvservice -s
state 0x400000 [LCD], 800x480 @ 60.00Hz, progressive



Humor a noob, but why is that any more accurate, versus any other way of checking it? And why did Dougie Lawson's show 720 x 480? For the record mine shows 800 x 480. My screen is one of the original version 1's.


I have no idea. That bug has evaporated with the latest firmware/kernel - I ran rpi-update this morning.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
User avatar
Posts: 28160
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by alphanumeric » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:04 pm
Ok, thanks Doughie.
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 2:17 pm