Orbital6

DT Overlay to force some GPIOs into HiZ from boot

Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:50 pm

Hi,

I've never played with a device tree overlay but am led to believe that I'll need to write one to force some GPIOs on a Pi 1 B+ to output HiZ from boot.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to go about this for GPIO5 for example?

Thanks

PhilE
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: DT Overlay to force some GPIOs into HiZ from boot

Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:27 pm

For a fuller answer on the electrical characteristics of the Pi GPIO lines you would be better off asking in the Interfacing forum - I'm a software engineer - but my understanding is:

All Pi GPIOs come up as inputs by default. Pins 0-8 pull high, and pins 9-27 pull low. Higher pin numbers have a mixture of default pulls. Pins with pulls enabled have an impedance of 50KOhms, whereas pins with no pull are more like 1MOhm. There is no true HighZ mode. Be aware that a pin with no pull really ought to be driven high or low externally otherwise it will float which can have a negative effect on the chip lifetime because it can become a current source (please don't quote me on this, this is just what I've heard).

The kernel pinctrl subsystem is there to allocate pins to drivers, preconfiguring them to be in the required mode. However it will only do this for an enabled device. In order to use pinctrl to set an arbitrary(*) pin state you need a device to request the state, and its easiest if this is a device which doesn't already use pinctrl. A common choice has been the "leds" driver.

Have a look at the following overlays - dpi18 (or dpi24 or vga666). It creates a pins group under the gpio node requesting a particular state, then adds a reference to it from the leds node. In your case you want to set the pin to be an input with no pull:

Code: Select all

my_pins_label: my_pins {
				brcm,pins = <5>;
				brcm,function = <0>; /* input */
				brcm,pull = <0>; /* no pull */
			};