Page 1 of 1

Clock cpu always 600mhz

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 3:49 am
by mpervez80
Dear Concern

I have install windows 10 IOT on Raspberry pi 3 B+. I am getting Cpu clock speed 600Mhz. Please anybody help me.

Re: Clock cpu always 600mhz

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:05 am
by B.Goode
Welcome to the Raspberry Pi forums.

mpervez80 wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 3:49 am
Dear Concern

I have install windows 10 IOT on Raspberry pi 3 B+. I am getting Cpu clock speed 600Mhz. Please anybody help me.


Since you are running a Microsoft Operating System on your RPi you might get more knowledgeable advice from a forum specialising in that OS?

Their Get Started page https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windo ... etstarted has a link to their own forum: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forum ... WindowsIoT

Re: Clock cpu always 600mhz

Posted: Wed May 22, 2019 9:14 am
by jamesh
mpervez80 wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 3:49 am
Dear Concern

I have install windows 10 IOT on Raspberry pi 3 B+. I am getting Cpu clock speed 600Mhz. Please anybody help me.
Are you measuring clock speed under load? The firmware will drop the CPU to 600 if there isn't any requriement for more speed, so unless the system is loaded up, you will only see 600 at idle.

Re: Clock cpu always 600mhz

Posted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:51 am
by ejolson
B.Goode wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 9:05 am
Welcome to the Raspberry Pi forums.

mpervez80 wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 3:49 am
Dear Concern

I have install windows 10 IOT on Raspberry pi 3 B+. I am getting Cpu clock speed 600Mhz. Please anybody help me.


Since you are running a Microsoft Operating System on your RPi you might get more knowledgeable advice from a forum specialising in that OS?

Their Get Started page https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windo ... etstarted has a link to their own forum: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forum ... WindowsIoT
Strangely enough this is the forum on Window 10 for IOT.

As already mentioned the clock speed automatically decreases to 600 MHz to conserve energy when the system is idle. If you are experiencing low clock speeds under load with a corresponding performance loss, you may have a power supply that is unable to supply the correct voltage at the required current for the higher clock speeds.