Hankus
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:13 am

Preview release W10 IOT?

Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:02 pm

I'm guessing the preview release you talk about is one available to developers only. Any idea how long before the general public might be able to benefit from something that sounds like the fix we're waiting for?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 23417
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Preview release W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:50 am

Hankus wrote:I'm guessing the preview release you talk about is one available to developers only. Any idea how long before the general public might be able to benefit from something that sounds like the fix we're waiting for?
It is easy to sign up as a Developer, I used my Microsoft Live Account details:

http://ms-iot.github.io/content/en-US/Downloads.htm

http://ms-iot.github.io/content/en-US/w ... review.htm
Rather than negativity think outside the box !
RPi 4B 4GB (SSD Boot) RaspiOS64 ARM64
Asus ChromeBox 3 Celeron is my other computer...

dobova86
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:46 am

Is there anyone using last 14262 preview build with visual studio 2015 ?
I'm not able to install and develop with LightningProvider .. VS doesn't see the Microsoft.Iot namespace although all assemblies required are referenced (Nuget) . ... I'm missing something ?

SwampieUK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:02 am

craigdudley wrote:Can confirm touch does indeed work on latest preview release.

Trying to figure out how to make it work rotated now though..
Edit the config.txt on the SD card and add

Code: Select all

display_rotate = 2
Full details are here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... fig-txt.md

Note however, that this (for Windows IoT) only rotates the screen. It doesn't appear to rotate the touch functionality. So on the default IoT boot screen you have to tap bottom left to access the Power button, despite the screen showing it in the top right. :lol:

Two steps forward (working screen, working touchscreen) and one step back (non-rotating touch screen). Great though that MS are fixing these things though. :D

Update:

As scotty101 pointed out, the actual setting (which correctly rotates touch input) is:

Code: Select all

lcd_rotate = 2
Last edited by SwampieUK on Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scotty101
Posts: 3958
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:09 pm

Actually I think the correct command is

Code: Select all

lcd_rotate = 2
This deals with the touchscreen too.

Source: http://learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/pi-l ... screen-lcd
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

SwampieUK
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:40 pm

Ahh, yes - you're right, that fixed it. Thanks.

stonelance
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:08 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:49 pm

lcd_rotate=2 in the config.txt will rotate 180

craigdudley
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:32 pm

Re: Display works on Raspbian Jessie, but not on W10 IOT?

Tue Feb 23, 2016 10:57 am

lcd_rotate=1 or lcd_rotate=3 don't seem to work though, so we're stuck in landscape for now.

Still, it's progress.

Return to “Windows 10 for IoT”