User avatar
hanzelpeter
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:56 am

win10 rpi image in qemu

Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:18 pm

Hello.

I have sucessfully installed Win10 IOT on RPi2.
Now I want to try to run this image in qemu.

Has someone tried it? google is not much a help.

alexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:25 am

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:43 am

Hello,

I've tried to run W10 IoT core into qemu like you but without success... And like you too I don't find any solution on Google.
The last error I've got was a NTFS error due to readonly file system with kernel "kernel-qemu".

My last commande line was :
qemu-system-armw -M versatilepb -m 256 -cpu arm1176 -no-reboot -serial stdio -kernel kernel-qemu -net nic -net user,hostname=windowsvm -append "root=/dev/sda2 rootfstype=ntfs rw" -hda W10-IOT-RPI2.img

Maybe I reply too late but if someone could help us... :geek:

Have a nice day !!!

User avatar
hanzelpeter
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:56 am

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:15 pm

Hello.

I have tried with this branch:
https://github.com/0xabu/qemu/tree/raspi

I was able to boot it, but for now USB is broken, so no mouse, keyboard and network.
If you search qemu-devel mailing list there is also command line how to run it.

alexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:25 am

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:07 pm

Thanks for the reply,

I've tried others command line like you says...
Without success with my version of QEMU (w64 version) and it seems that your binaries are not better when I read you.

It's not very important,

Bye, Alexx

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40539
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:27 am

Win10IoT only runs on an ARM7 (or ARM7 emulator). Your QEMU is emulating ARM6.

You're very likely to be violating the Microsoft EULA by attempting to do this.
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

mimi123
Posts: 583
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:32 pm

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:59 pm

DougieLawson wrote:Win10IoT only runs on an ARM7 (or ARM7 emulator). Your QEMU is emulating ARM6.

You're very likely to be violating the Microsoft EULA by attempting to do this.
There is https://github.com/0xabu/qemu/tree/raspi which works on IoT(mentionned on this thread)
You can also emulate the Tegra 3 and run it

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40539
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:43 pm

mimi123 wrote:
DougieLawson wrote:Win10IoT only runs on an ARM7 (or ARM7 emulator). Your QEMU is emulating ARM6.

You're very likely to be violating the Microsoft EULA by attempting to do this.
There is https://github.com/0xabu/qemu/tree/raspi which works on IoT(mentionned on this thread)
You can also emulate the Tegra 3 and run it
That's clearly what Alexx needs to update to. His post shows he's trying to use the ancient old ARM6 / 256MB emulator.
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

alexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:25 am

Re: win10 rpi image in qemu

Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:42 am

Thanks for your replies,

I've tried to compile this version under windows (x64) with gcc, but unfortunately without succes for the moment.
I'll retry it during the next holidays.

Bye

Return to “Windows 10 for IoT”