John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat May 16, 2015 2:25 pm

ferhat wrote:Hello guys,

I read here that some guys were able to boot Windows 10 IoT with RP2.
I downloaded and installed Windows 10 ADK, where I got my dism.exe. My host machine is a Windows 7 vmware virtual machine.
I passed my SD-card reader/writer to my VM so I was able to write the image with dism.

I performed the steps described here: http://ms-iot.github.io/content/win10/SetupRPI.htm
Right after inserting the SD card into my RP2 I could see "Graphics Console started", a windows logo and a blue screen. Thats all. Nothing happens after that.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Ferhat

How long did you wait? You need a bit of patience on first boot. In the end it will get there.

ferhat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 10:09 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat May 16, 2015 2:54 pm

Hmm.. I waited for about 10 minutes. There was no progress.
Is there a log file which I can check?

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sun May 17, 2015 8:28 am

ferhat wrote:Hmm.. I waited for about 10 minutes. There was no progress.
Is there a log file which I can check?
Not that I know, 10 minutes should be enough. Strange because the fact that you see the windows logo means that the image is correctly written to the SD card. Do you have another SD card laying around? Might be worth on trying that. Also make sure you have a good power connector connected to the PI, I had one that was not providing enough power at the beginning and that gave some issues.

ferhat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 10:09 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sun May 17, 2015 7:57 pm

John_ wrote:
ferhat wrote:Hmm.. I waited for about 10 minutes. There was no progress.
Is there a log file which I can check?
Not that I know, 10 minutes should be enough. Strange because the fact that you see the windows logo means that the image is correctly written to the SD card. Do you have another SD card laying around? Might be worth on trying that. Also make sure you have a good power connector connected to the PI, I had one that was not providing enough power at the beginning and that gave some issues.
I tried it several times with no success. So I switched back to Ubuntu Mate.
I will try it again with another SD card but I think this is not necessary because Raspbian and Ubuntu Mate work fine.

I am using this power connector:
http://www.amazon.de/dp/B00GM0305Y

But I recognized something which I don't understand:
I had to repeat writing my ubuntu mate image 3 times until PI was able to boot again.

Thanks,
Ferhat

disk4m3
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 7:52 pm

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sun May 17, 2015 8:06 pm

hello when attempting to perform this action tells me unknown image file Error: 87 . i running DISM.exe , that problem is it?

thanks

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon May 18, 2015 3:38 am

disk4m3 wrote:hello when attempting to perform this action tells me unknown image file Error: 87 . i running DISM.exe , that problem is it?

thanks
I got this error when I didn't copy all of the DLL's that were part of the folder where dism.exe came from. Are you sure you copied all other files from the folder where dism.exe came from?

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon May 18, 2015 3:44 am

ferhat wrote: I had to repeat writing my ubuntu mate image 3 times until PI was able to boot again.

Thanks,
Ferhat
hmm, seems there is something with the SD card then perhaps. Its always a bit of trial and error with these kind of issues as it could be the SD or still the power supply. But the power supply seems ok. So if you have another SD card somewhere, I think that would be the best path to follow.

ferhat
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 10:09 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon May 18, 2015 5:36 pm

John_ wrote:
ferhat wrote: I had to repeat writing my ubuntu mate image 3 times until PI was able to boot again.

Thanks,
Ferhat
hmm, seems there is something with the SD card then perhaps. Its always a bit of trial and error with these kind of issues as it could be the SD or still the power supply. But the power supply seems ok. So if you have another SD card somewhere, I think that would be the best path to follow.
Tried another SD card now. It worked like a charm.
Testing my other SD card with "badblocks" now. Actually it is a brand new SandDisk Class 10 sd card.

Thanks,
Ferhat

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon May 18, 2015 6:00 pm

ferhat wrote: Tried another SD card now. It worked like a charm.
Testing my other SD card with "badblocks" now. Actually it is a brand new SandDisk Class 10 sd card.
Good to hear that it works!. If its a brand new sanddisk, you should probably be able to return it.

AlexCornelis
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat May 23, 2015 2:01 pm

I try to install Win 10 IOT on my Pi 2B, but .. on my Windows 7 Pc (Home premium) I get an error on dism.exe /Apply-Imag ...
He seems not to know the /Appy-Image .
Is there a solution/workaround ?

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat May 23, 2015 2:20 pm

AlexCornelis wrote:I try to install Win 10 IOT on my Pi 2B, but .. on my Windows 7 Pc (Home premium) I get an error on dism.exe /Apply-Imag ...
He seems not to know the /Appy-Image .
Is there a solution/workaround ?
Did you follow these steps exactly? If you do then you will have the correct version of dism.exe and not get this error. viewtopic.php?p=750492#p750492
If you copied the correct version of dism and still get the error, then prefix dism.exe with the full path to where you placed it.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 30428
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat May 23, 2015 3:51 pm

AlexCornelis wrote: Is there a solution/workaround ?
The way I've done this (on my Win8.1 laptop) is to run Win10 in a Oracle VM Virtualbox. I didn't want to risk pushing my laptop on to an untested version of Windows.

https://www.virtualbox.org/
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

User avatar
Jednorozec
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Deposit, NY

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:21 am

DougieLawson wrote:
AlexCornelis wrote: Is there a solution/workaround ?
The way I've done this (on my Win8.1 laptop) is to run Win10 in a Oracle VM Virtualbox. I didn't want to risk pushing my laptop on to an untested version of Windows.

https://www.virtualbox.org/
Microsoft says
Windows 10 Insider Preview - must be a physical Windows machine (not a VM).
Did you have to do anything special to make it work?
The most important leg of a three legged stool is the one that's missing.
It's called thinking. Why don't you try it sometime?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 30428
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:58 am

Only special thing was getting the very latest version of Oracle's virtualbox and giving it a 120MB chunk of my hard drive.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

funtomas
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:12 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:31 pm

could someone post user and password for windows 10 on raspi?


its

Administrator
p@ssw0rd


edit: installed from first post but there is error you must use Flash.ffu with big F

edit2: ssh on windows
Image

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:55 pm

funtomas wrote: edit: installed from first post but there is error you must use Flash.ffu with big F
thanks for the info, i thought my flash.ffu was with lower case, but I updated the first post and made a remark on lower case.

jozien1722
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:24 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:23 am

"dism.exe /Apply-Image /ImageFile:Flash.ffu /ApplyDrive:\\.\PhysicalDriveN /SkipPlatformCheck"

I followed the above instructions and get an error:

"Apply-Image option is unknown"
I checked c:\Windows\logs\dism and get "no providers found that support the command
(Apply-Image)"

Where did you download dism.exe that has the option "Apply-Image"?

jozien1722

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:51 am

jozien1722 wrote:"dism.exe /Apply-Image /ImageFile:Flash.ffu /ApplyDrive:\\.\PhysicalDriveN /SkipPlatformCheck"

I followed the above instructions and get an error:

"Apply-Image option is unknown"
I checked c:\Windows\logs\dism and get "no providers found that support the command
(Apply-Image)"

Where did you download dism.exe that has the option "Apply-Image"?

jozien1722
Did you do step 1-3 exactly like mentioned in the first post? You will get the error message "Apply-Image option is unknown" if you don't copy all the files from the folder where you got dism.exe from. So if you follow step 1-3 to the letter, it should work.

Quiggers
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:04 am
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:13 am

I'm getting the same error 87 Apply-Image is unknown.

when I run dism.exe /?
it lists the supported commands but Apply-Image is not on the list.
There are only 7 commands for the version of dism on my PC.

/Get-MountedWimInfo
/Get-WimInfo
/Commit-Wim
/Unmount-Wim
/Mount-Wim
/Remount-Wim
/Cleanup-Wim



Running windows 7 professional SP1 64Bit.
2 pi's and a camara. and a lot of learning to do.

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:18 am

Quiggers wrote:I'm getting the same error 87 Apply-Image is unknown.

when I run dism.exe /?
it lists the supported commands but Apply-Image is not on the list.
There are only 7 commands for the version of dism on my PC.

/Get-MountedWimInfo
/Get-WimInfo
/Commit-Wim
/Unmount-Wim
/Mount-Wim
/Remount-Wim
/Cleanup-Wim



Running windows 7 professional SP1 64Bit.
did you try Flash.ffu with a lower case F at the beginning?

Quiggers
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:04 am
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:27 am

tried both cases, runnig dism.exe from within the the unzipped folder,
the error led me to look into dism.exe which is where I noticed that the
Apply-Image option is not supported by my version of dism.exe

I have a windows 8.1 laptop at home, I'll try it on that tonight.


EDIT:
On re-reading the installation guidelines on MS Developers site it
seems to indicate that I should be running Windows10 technical preview on the host machine.

Is this my issue? Am I required to preview a PC OS to preview a Pi OS?
2 pi's and a camara. and a lot of learning to do.

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:47 pm

If you are in the directory where the presumably correct dism is located, add .\ in front of the command to be certain that you are executing the one in that directory and not from the Path setting.

Gerrit

GerritV
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 4:16 pm
Location: St Catharines, ON
Contact: Website

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:02 pm

Quiggers wrote:

EDIT:
On re-reading the installation guidelines on MS Developers site it
seems to indicate that I should be running Windows10 technical preview on the host machine.

Is this my issue? Am I required to preview a PC OS to preview a Pi OS?
No, there are multiple thread here that describe how to accomplish this on 7 or 8 or 8.1. You need the correct version of dism.exe, e.g. from the Windows 10 ADK or from a Windows 10 install iso. you only need the directory that includes dism, not a full install of the OS or ADK.
To execute the correct dism, either run it from the directory where it is located and use .\dism.exe .... or use the full path to where it is located, if .e.g you are running the command from the directory where you placed Flash.ffu
The version should report as 10074 or higher
Gerrit

jtanner_msft
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 7:12 pm

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:52 pm

It should be noted that not all development features will fully work from within Visual Studio unless you’re running it on Windows 10 Technical Preview, but as Gerrit mentioned you don’t HAVE to use Win 10 TP to flash the SD card.
Jonathan Tanner | Microsoft | Windows 10 IoT Core Insider Preview Support | This posting is provided 'as is' with no warranties and confers no rights.

John_
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 7:50 am

Re: Install Windows 10 for IoT using Windows 7

Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:53 pm

GerritV wrote:If you are in the directory where the presumably correct dism is located, add .\ in front of the command to be certain that you are executing the one in that directory and not from the Path setting.

Gerrit
Ah good tip!, added it to the initial post.

Return to “Windows 10 for IoT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests