Page 1 of 1

Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 8:16 pm
by robo-bal
I can't login remotely using powershell. After issuing the command "Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost>\Administrator" where 192.168.0.41 is my RPi2 machine, I get a login prompt to login is "localhost\Administrator". I try login using the default password "[email protected]@rd" and I can't login. What am I doing wrong?

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 9:27 pm
by tohipfortheroom
could be many things setting powershell took me a couple hours, sadly lol
have you run the command winrm quickconfig ?

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 10:18 pm
by Stanto
robo-bal wrote:I can't login remotely using powershell. After issuing the command "Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost>\Administrator" where 192.168.0.41 is my RPi2 machine, I get a login prompt to login is "localhost\Administrator". I try login using the default password "[email protected]@rd" and I can't login. What am I doing wrong?
Try:
Enter-PsSession -192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost\Administrator
The chevron was only there for this portion of the text:
<machine-name or IP Address or localhost>
Which was implying that machine-name, IP Address, localhost, were options and to only choose one. You should not have > or < before \Administrator.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 10:50 pm
by jtanner_msft
If you take a look at this page it'll walk you thru the steps to establish a remote connection:
http://ms-iot.github.io/content/win10/s ... rShell.htm

Based upon what you had posted I think the problem you're having was you were using '[email protected]@rd'.

The default password is actually: [email protected] - (or p<at sign>ssw<zero>rd)

I hope that helps.

~Jonathan Tanner [MSFT]

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:03 pm
by robo-bal
I have run winrm quickconfig and answered Y to all the questions. here is the error I get, I tried localhost/Administrator too.


PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential 192.168.0.31
Enter-PsSession : Connecting to remote server 192.168.0.41 failed with the following error message : Access is denied. For more
information, see the about_Remote_Troubleshooting Help topic.
At line:1 char:1
+ Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential 192.168.0.31
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidArgument: (192.168.0.41:String) [Enter-PSSession], PSRemotingTransportException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CreateRemoteRunspaceFailed

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32>

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:07 pm
by robo-bal
When I issue :

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Enter-PsSession 192.168.0.41 -Credential localhost/Administrator

The pop sign on window tells me to use "example: [email protected]/DOMAIN/username" for the user name.

Man I'm stumped.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:10 pm
by jtanner_msft
The connection string should be:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName <machine-name or IP Address> -Credential <machine-name or IP Address or localhost>\Administrator

So for example:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName 192.168.0.10 -Credential 192.168.0.10\Administrator

<or for a system name>

Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi2 -Credential myrpi2\Administrator

And to clarify the IP or system name should be that of your Rpi2 board, not the localhost or system you're running Powershell on.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:32 pm
by tohipfortheroom
Try logging in though a a Internet broswer just place your IP address in the search so for example it's http://10.0.1.2

See if that loads the manager

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 2:20 pm
by eggster
I must admit, I had a really hard time getting remote PowerShell to connect properly.
Using Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi -Credential myrpi\Administrator ended up fixing my issues though.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 2:51 pm
by John_
Wow it is a really difficult to remotely login into this thing. Hope MS fixes this in the real release. Remote login in should be as easy as Pi(e). I keep on getting errors.

After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc

I get:
Set-Item : Access is denied.
At line:1 char:9
+ Set-Item <<<< WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Set-Item], InvalidOperationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.InvalidOperationException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetItemCommand

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 5:38 pm
by luke.arran
John_ wrote:Wow it is a really difficult to remotely login into this thing. Hope MS fixes this in the real release. Remote login in should be as easy as Pi(e). I keep on getting errors.

After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc

I get:
Set-Item : Access is denied.
At line:1 char:9
+ Set-Item <<<< WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts -Value minwinpc
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Set-Item], InvalidOperationException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.InvalidOperationException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.SetItemCommand
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 11:14 pm
by robo-bal
jtanner_msft wrote:The connection string should be:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName <machine-name or IP Address> -Credential <machine-name or IP Address or localhost>\Administrator

So for example:
Enter-PsSession -ComputerName 192.168.0.10 -Credential 192.168.0.10\Administrator

<or for a system name>

Enter-PsSession -ComputerName myrpi2 -Credential myrpi2\Administrator

And to clarify the IP or system name should be that of your Rpi2 board, not the localhost or system you're running Powershell on.
Thanks! I can now login!!!

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sat May 02, 2015 11:15 pm
by robo-bal
tohipfortheroom wrote:Try logging in though a a Internet broswer just place your IP address in the search so for example it's http://10.0.1.2

See if that loads the manager
This also worked for me. Wow took me hours and lots helps from you guys to do this. It should be much simpler.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Sun May 03, 2015 6:15 am
by John_
luke.arran wrote:
John_ wrote:...
After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
..
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.
I am running it as admin, might have to do with me using W7 for this.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 7:28 pm
by GerritV
John_ wrote:
luke.arran wrote:
John_ wrote:...
After entering this in powershell (running it as admin)
..
Run PowerShell as an administrator. That should solve your problem.
I am running it as admin, might have to do with me using W7 for this.
Did you successfully change the name to minwinpc? If not, use the ip address. A trusted hot is a trusted host, shouldn't matter that you are on Win 7. (Works from Win 8.1)

Gerrit

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 10:23 am
by drgeoff
I too cannot get the TrustedHost line to work from Windows 7 (Pro SP1 fully patched). I am running PS as Administrator. I have typed the line several times and tried a copy and paste from the MS page. Tried both the machine name and the IP address shown on the RPi screen after booting.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 10:36 am
by GerritV
Someone else reported that not having a password on Windows 7 account caused this symptom. They turned off UAC which should only be a temporary solution. Best to set an account pw if not already done.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 10:58 am
by drgeoff
GerritV wrote:Someone else reported that not having a password on Windows 7 account caused this symptom. They turned off UAC which should only be a temporary solution. Best to set an account pw if not already done.
The account already had a password.

Since my post above I found viewtopic.php?p=760355#p760355. Turning off UAC and rebooting has cleared that hurdle.

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:37 pm
by GerritV
Just be aware that there are risks associated with running with UAC disabled.

I use Windows 8.1 and haven't seen your specific issue... so maybe related to Win 7.

Gerrit

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:21 am
by fiveA
We've changed the password in Powershell and we can't access it using the new password. What can we do? :(

Re: Can't remote login

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:37 pm
by ricl
If all else fails, re-flash the OS and return to known factory settings