Dodgebus

Need timer/ phone dialer help

Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:47 pm

Hi, I am new to raspberry pi. I have a pretty good working knowledge of it just lacking in the programming skills. I have a friend that is having seizures. He has been unconscious a few times without anyone knowing about it. We would like to design a raspberry pi to alert a selected friend if he has failed to check in. What we have in mind is a button that he has to press ever 8 hours. If he pressed the button before the 8 hours it would just reset it self and start the 8 hour timer again, if he missed the check in we would want it to call or text me or the selected person. He is blind so the user interface needs to be pretty simple just a button would be ideal. What I was thinking is have a pre-recorded voice that says he has missed his check in or text. I am not sure how we could connect to the Internet he has an iPad with cellular data if that does not work then maybe some Cellular data modular for the raspberry pi. Any help or ideas on this matter would be greatly appreciated!

shadetree01010100

Re: Need

Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:10 pm

Here's a project on hackster.io that's similar, using a motion sensor for input instead of a button: https://www.hackster.io/drew-noolas/ras ... sor-aed9db

JorgeP

Re: Need timer/ phone dialer help

Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:28 pm

Dodgebus wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:47 pm
I have a friend that is having seizures.
We would like to design a raspberry pi to alert a selected friend if he has failed to check in.
He is blind so the user interface needs to be pretty simple just a button would be ideal. What I was thinking is have a pre-recorded voice that says he has missed his check in or text.
Any help or ideas on this matter would be greatly appreciated!
Hi, might I recommend using an "accelerometer" instead of a button. You can use it as a fall detector which would require some programming to detect a fall as opposed to your friend just moving about normally.