Grimesaion

Using a rp3 as a hearing aid loop system

Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:09 pm

I'm a noob to the pi i have a rp3 and currently just use it for olec to stream my entertainment. However i want to use my rp3 as an hearing aid loop so i can t-coil. As an hearing aid user it's so annoying having boosted hearing and picking up everything around you yet the tv you can't focus on. Hearing aids the latest ones today cost loads and the equipment to loop is also expensive from a point of view. If i bought a streamer pro i could connect to the pi via bluetooth with wearing my neck loop and other devises, but i don't want to buy that. I want to connect my rp3 to my dts, but 1st i need the loop hoping in some way a powered audio board could be used, in addition. Any hints tips or advice or anyone who has a project would love to hear from you.

Grimesaion.

Carter Nolan

Re: Using a rp3 as a hearing aid loop system

Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:11 am

The following explanation may be of some help in enabling you to understand how an induction loop works.

Most listening devices nowadays have a switch checked M and T. Some even have M, MT and T. The M (microphone) position is for "typical" tuning in, that is accepting airborne sound by means of the receiver worked into the portable microphone. The T (telecoil) position is for accepting the sound by means of an enlistment curl which is worked into the portable microphone.

For the acceptance curl to give sound, an attractive field is required by means of which the sound is transmitted. This office in amplifiers was presented by various producers numerous years back and was then known as the "phone" or "telecoil" position on the listening device switch. It was proposed to make it less demanding for the amplifier client to hear via phone, by grabbing the sound by means of the attractive field created by the stomach curl in the collector of the phone.