Page 1 of 1

VGA666 + arcade controls

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 9:13 am
by leiptrstormr
I am somewhat confused. I intend to use the VGA666 board on my RP2, but I would like to wire arcade controls to GPIO as well. The VGA666 manual states that it will only work on B+/2 boards. It goes on to say pins 2-21 will be used and pins 22-27 will be free. Are pins 28-40 off limits for some reason? I have never experimented with GPIO and my Pi hasn't arrived in the mail yet so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I assume by this tutorial that everything must be grounded as well so if pins 22-40 are in play that nets me 1 stick and 3 buttons.
https://learn.adafruit.com/retro-gaming ... pi/buttons

Re: VGA666 + arcade controls

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 12:45 pm
by rpdom
You are confusing pin numbers with GPIO numbers. It isn't pins 2 to 21 that are used, it is GPIOs 2 to 21, which use the following pins: 3(2), 5(3), 7(4), 29(5), 31(6), 26(7), 24(8), 21(9), 19(10), 23(11), 32(12), 33(13), 8(14), 10(15), 36(16), 11(17), 12(18), 35(19), 38(20) and 40(21) (GPIO numbers in brackets).

That leaves the following pins: 15(22), 16(23), 18(24), 22(25), 37(26), 13(27) free for you to use.

Re: VGA666 + arcade controls

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 9:32 pm
by leiptrstormr
USB controls it is. Thanks for clearing that up!

Re: VGA666 + arcade controls

Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 4:04 pm
by amichel72
:D :D :D :D :D :D Message today, 15:46

Hi everyone, and compliments for skill and passion.
I have a raspy 3 B and I mounted the VGA666 according to the procedure
view ... hp? T = 94424
Everything works fine.

But then I tried to use the free pins to connect a joystick and 2 buttons.
In theory GPIOs from 22 to 27 are free and should not conflict with the VGA connection.
Instead I downloaded the drivers and configured the system but
I found some problems. Specifically with the command
Sudo modprobe mk_arcade_joystick_rpi map = 1 commands work but the monitor loses some colors,
If I try it with map = 5 followed by gpio = X, Y, A, B, etc. Turn off the monitor.
Did anyone have the same experience or do they solve the problem?
Hello hello thanks.
Andrew