installation issue

5 posts
by titan1943 » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:11 pm
i setting up the raspberry Pi using NOOB software (v1.3.2) and i was able to see the screen for the OS setup. While installing the OSes i had chosen previously, halfway suddenly an error occurred and after closed the error message, it never boots up again.

Error Message:
Error downloading or extracting tarballxz: read error
tar: short read

As i am new to raspberry pi development, i totally no idea what's going on. what's that possibly to cause this to happen? can anyone please help me?
i have plug into my raspbery Pi model-B with :
1) sd card(16gb samsung microSDHC UHS-1 card)
2) power adapter(5V, 1.1A)
3) network cable
4) keyboard & mouse
5) and a RCA cable to my TV.
by FTrevorGowen » Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:40 pm
titan1943 wrote:i setting up the raspberry Pi using NOOB software (v1.3.2) and i was able to see the screen for the OS setup. While installing the OSes i had chosen previously, halfway suddenly an error occurred and after closed the error message, it never boots up again.
Error Message:
Error downloading or extracting tarballxz: read error
tar: short read
As i am new to raspberry pi development, i totally no idea what's going on. what's that possibly to cause this to happen? can anyone please help me?
i have plug into my raspbery Pi model-B with :
1) sd card(16gb samsung microSDHC UHS-1 card)
2) power adapter(5V, 1.1A)
3) network cable
4) keyboard & mouse
5) and a RCA cable to my TV.

Were you using NOOBS 1.3.2 Lite which downloads the O.S.'s as it installs? If so I think the error message means that either a partial download of your requested O.S. occurred, or it was corrupted due to network (connection errors).
Given that you're using quite a large SDHC card perhaps try the full version of NOOBS 1.3.2 instead and, if you can, perform a check of the "sha1sum" etc. (If you were already using the full version, were you able to check the sha1sum and confirm that the zipfile was complete etc?)