Some Pi help

7 posts
by A.Nihilist » Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:37 am
Hi, I'm a beginner in using Pi. In fact, I got it barely 3 days ago. I'm having some problems starting it up, and I figure that it may have to do with the improvised hardware I am using, but I don't know for sure.

1) Instead of using a HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to DVI cable, I am using a HDMI to VGA cable. Is this an issue?
2) Whenever I try to boot, the Pi only shows one red status light, nothing else. Is this normal?
3) No matter what I do, I cannot seem to get it started. I am using a Mac to flash the boot IMG, so is this an issue? I have Bootcamp and Windows 8 installed, but I am busy doing work as of writing and cannot try that out.

These are, for now, my problems, although I think I may have some more later.

P.S. I have all the IMGs and stuff ready, and am currently using MinePeon and Raspbian (both the latest versions). I still cannot get either to work...
by Oakham » Mon Sep 09, 2013 6:46 am
1) Instead of using a HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to DVI cable, I am using a HDMI to VGA cable. Is this an issue?

You will need a adaptor / converter: http://elinux.org/RPi_VerifiedPeriphera ... y_adapters

3) No matter what I do, I cannot seem to get it started. I am using a Mac to flash the boot IMG, so is this an issue? I have Bootcamp and Windows 8 installed, but I am busy doing work as of writing and cannot try that out.

I have found using a USB Card Reader and using Command Line with a quality SD Cards usually works: http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup#Using_Mac_OSX
Searching is easy, most questions have been asked before !
by rpdom » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:08 am
As Oakham said, you will need a HDMI->VGA adapter, not just a cable. Preferably one with an external power supply (although I've got away with using a cheap one from ebay and no PSU).