SSH Guide For Complete noob?

55 posts   Page 1 of 3   1, 2, 3
by pmgmr2 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:17 am
Hello, I just got my raspberry pi and I've been trying to figure out how to VNC into it from my laptop..I found a guide online for this:

http://www.cnx-software.com/20.....pberry-pi/

...but the first step says to "Connect via SSH"...I've installed Putty on my Win7 laptop and entered the local IP of the rPi and entered my username, but I'm still getting "connection refused"

I've never used SSH and know almost nothing about it, but I've been scouring guides for a couple days and come up with nothing....please help!  Thank you.
by abishur » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:25 am
Welcome to the forums!

Let's start at the beginning, what distro are you using (Debian, Fedora Remix?)

Second, when you say "you input your user name" do you mean pi/raspberry?  Or did you make a new user on the R-pi?
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
by sandbasser » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:43 am
Are you sure you have some kind of SSH server running on the Pi???  (I believe i read somewhere that one of the distros has SSH turned off by default.)

Can you ping the IP Address of the Pi???

"Connection refused" can mean there"s no listener on port 22 on the IP address you"re trying to connect to; and, it can also mean that you"ve got your SSH setting wrong in PuTTY.

I haven"t got my Pi yet so I"m afraid i can"t offer anything other than these few basic suggestions.

Another thing to try in PuTTY is to NOT enter a auto-login username PuTTY's Connection-Data config but let it prompt you…IIRC the first time you connect it will prompt to accept a default certificate.

-Ray
by abishur » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:56 am
Side note if it's the debian build and you haven't done this yet, you'll need to in order to turn on SSH

rename boot_enable_ssh.rc to boot.rc on the boot partition you can do this by issuing the following the commands

1. sudo bash

2. cd /boot

3. mv boot_enable_ssh.rc boot.rc