Input/ Output error when installing Raspbian using NOOBS


8 posts
by NatServ » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:30 am
I get the error code
Error writing image to SD card
dd: /dev/mmcbIk0: Input/output error
halfway through instal of Raspbian using NOOBS. Help please!!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:24 am
by DeeJay » Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:46 am
Following the instructions on Page 3 of the Quick Start Guide, I'd suggest you try again, starting with reformatting the SD card.

(NOOBS creates its own partition on the sd card into which it copies the Raspbian image. Maybe the previous state of the card prevented that process from completing correctly?)

But the good news is that you were able to boot into NOOBS and select an operating system to install - some people get stuck before that!
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html
User avatar
Posts: 2033
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
by NatServ » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:27 pm
Ive tried that but I erased the card and tried again, but that didn't work. Thanks for your help!
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:24 am
by DeeJay » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:47 pm
Are you using NOOBS V1.2.1, which is the most recent version at the time of writing?
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html
User avatar
Posts: 2033
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
by NatServ » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:47 pm
Yep, 1.2.1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:24 am
by DeeJay » Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:41 pm
Just for the sake of 'closure' - not resolution - I have to admit I have no other suggestions.

Maybe you could raise this as an 'issue' on the NOOBS Developers' Github site?
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html
User avatar
Posts: 2033
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK
by DougieLawson » Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:23 pm
How big is your SD card? It needs to be a freshly formatted 4GB (or larger) SD card.

The i/o error from dd is likely that the SD card is full.
Hacker on ZX80 and Microtan65
Unemployed mainframe database specialist.
Linux hacker since 1995.
RPi owner since 2012.
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Gaffer tape is "The Force", it has a dark side and a light side and it holds the Universe together.
User avatar
Posts: 5378
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by NatServ » Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:15 am
I re downloaded the file and formatted again. That fixed it so it must have just been a croupt file.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:24 am