Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0


13 posts
by andrewstillie » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:15 pm
Hi,

I am relatively new user with the pi.
I have just installed tightvncserver, after my next reboot I have been unable to connect wirelessly.
When I run the if config command I can only see eth0.
When I run lsusb I can see my wireless adaptor listed.

Can anyone offer some help?

Thanks
Andy
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by docwisdom » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:17 pm
is wlan0 setup in /etc/network/interfaces ?
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:14 pm
by andrewstillie » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:32 pm
Yes, that is set correctly and unchanged from prior to the reboot.
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by Joe Schmoe » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:54 pm
The most important thing is to do "ifconfig -a".

Without the "-a", it only lists devices that are "up".
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.

- Robert S. McNamara - quoted in "Fog of War" -
Posts: 2857
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by andrewstillie » Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:05 am
Is there some way I can undo the install of tightvncserver?
Could this install have have corrupted the WiFi dongle driver?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:11 pm
Here is a snapshot of ifconfig with the -a.
I notice there is still no IP address....any clues?
Attachments
13642413528901.jpg
13642413528901.jpg (26.78 KiB) Viewed 353 times
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by Joe Schmoe » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:21 pm
Well, you asked why it didn't show up in "ifconfig" and the answer is "because it wasn't 'UP'".

When you do "ifconfig -a", it is there.

Note, incidentally, that in the old days, "UP" and "has an IP address" were synonymous. Nowadays, however, I've noticed that it shows as "UP" even when it doesn't have an IP address. I treat this as an anomaly.
Never answer the question you are asked. Rather, answer the question you wish you had been asked.

- Robert S. McNamara - quoted in "Fog of War" -
Posts: 2857
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:25 pm
OK...what else can I try?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:30 pm
Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:08 pm
Is there anyway I can check if I have a wifi connection to router?
ie not a IP Address allocation issue.
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by mahjongg » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:10 pm
andrewstillie wrote:Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?

Because you ask nicely... ;)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5865
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
by andrewstillie » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:47 pm
My apologies not missing my manners....Please and thank you added to all previous posts. ;)
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by jaylongley » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:27 pm
if your wireless is setup properly and your vnc is too, did you set your tightvncserver to start on boot?
http://www.InstantSupportSite.com/self-help/
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:27 pm