Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0


13 posts
by andrewstillie » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:15 pm
Hi,

I am relatively new user with the pi.
I have just installed tightvncserver, after my next reboot I have been unable to connect wirelessly.
When I run the if config command I can only see eth0.
When I run lsusb I can see my wireless adaptor listed.

Can anyone offer some help?

Thanks
Andy
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by docwisdom » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:17 pm
is wlan0 setup in /etc/network/interfaces ?
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:14 pm
by andrewstillie » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:32 pm
Yes, that is set correctly and unchanged from prior to the reboot.
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by Joe Schmoe » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:54 pm
The most important thing is to do "ifconfig -a".

Without the "-a", it only lists devices that are "up".
Like so much of Linux these days, the attempts to make it suitable for
dumb idiots are making it much harder for someone who wants to do
something the designers never anticipated.
Posts: 2937
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by andrewstillie » Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:05 am
Is there some way I can undo the install of tightvncserver?
Could this install have have corrupted the WiFi dongle driver?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:11 pm
Here is a snapshot of ifconfig with the -a.
I notice there is still no IP address....any clues?
Attachments
13642413528901.jpg
13642413528901.jpg (26.78 KiB) Viewed 365 times
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by Joe Schmoe » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:21 pm
Well, you asked why it didn't show up in "ifconfig" and the answer is "because it wasn't 'UP'".

When you do "ifconfig -a", it is there.

Note, incidentally, that in the old days, "UP" and "has an IP address" were synonymous. Nowadays, however, I've noticed that it shows as "UP" even when it doesn't have an IP address. I treat this as an anomaly.
Like so much of Linux these days, the attempts to make it suitable for
dumb idiots are making it much harder for someone who wants to do
something the designers never anticipated.
Posts: 2937
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:25 pm
OK...what else can I try?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:30 pm
Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by andrewstillie » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:08 pm
Is there anyway I can check if I have a wifi connection to router?
ie not a IP Address allocation issue.
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by mahjongg » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:10 pm
andrewstillie wrote:Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?

Because you ask nicely... ;)
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 6029
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
by andrewstillie » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:47 pm
My apologies not missing my manners....Please and thank you added to all previous posts. ;)
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:26 am
by jaylongley » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:27 pm
if your wireless is setup properly and your vnc is too, did you set your tightvncserver to start on boot?
http://www.InstantSupportSite.com/self-help/
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:27 pm