HPLIP plugin for ARM


8 posts
by rafael » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:01 pm
Hello guys,

I'd just like to share that, while I was trying to set up my printer, I found out that the current version (3.13.3) of the HPLIP plugin was compiled only for x86 architecture and, thus, it doesn't work for our beloved Raspberry Pi.

BUT merlin has started a bug report to ask for an ARM support in their plugin. You can check it in the following url: https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1152219

The more people voting as affected, the better! :)
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:58 pm
by Spid » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:12 pm
The HPLip software package is in both Raspbian and Arch Linux Distros, available from the repositories :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Raspbian also has the HPLip-gui add on.....

http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/hplip
I will always assume you are running Raspbian for desktop and Raspbmc for XMBC !
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:47 pm
by rafael » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:42 pm
Spid, Gentoo also has HPLIP in portage and I've already installed it. ;)

The thing is that the HPLIP script downloads a plugin when you use their setup script. The downloaded file has some ELF shared objects, but they were compiled for the x86 and x86_64 architecture. Maybe not everything requires the plugin, but some printers does.

I described the problem with some technical details, before getting to know the bug report was created. If you're interested, you can check here: https://answers.launchpad.net/hplip/+question/224343
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:58 pm
by Spid » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:57 pm
Well I have a current model HP ePrinter Deskjet 3055A and it works out-of-the box in a fully updated Raspbian "wheezy"

FYI Gentoo for ARMv6 Pi is still in BETA Testing

So the question I wish to ask is does this bug happen on all ARMv6 Pi Operating Systems, because the Pi is not the only device using an ARMv6 CPU based SoC ?
I will always assume you are running Raspbian for desktop and Raspbmc for XMBC !
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:47 pm
by rafael » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:31 pm
Spid wrote:So the question I wish to ask is does this bug happen on all ARMv6 Pi Operating Systems, because the Pi is not the only device using an ARMv6 CPU based SoC ?

As far as I'm concerned, it happens on all non-x86 systems, but with devices that require the HPLIP plugin.

If you download the plugin (http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/pl ... plugin.run) and extract it to some directory (sh hplip-3.13.3-plugin.run --noexec --keep --target <somedirectory>), you'll notice the x86 files I'm talking about. ;)

Your printer doesn't seem to need the plugin. Lucky you! :lol:
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:58 pm
by Spid » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:14 am
"Your printer doesn't seem to need the plugin. Lucky you! " :oops:


Not lucky, just undertook research before buying, when I replaced my Canon Printer. caveat emptor! :roll:

http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/su ... index.html


The HPLIP version in Raspbian "wheezy" is 3.12.6-3.1 and alarmpi is 3.13.3-2
I will always assume you are running Raspbian for desktop and Raspbmc for XMBC !
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:47 pm
by rafael » Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:23 am
My only problem with HPLIP before this was the time when the configuration script used to give me the wrong download link to plugin. :lol: Did you use your Canon printer with linux/cups? How was your experience like?

My HPLIP version is 3.13.3 and my portage was updated last Sunday.
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:58 pm
by MajinJoko » Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:01 pm
I successfully installed my printer (p1005), the firmware is loaded when the usb is connected, but the epic fail is when I try to print anything: "filter error" on cups. Seems related to the ppd file, but the same configuration works on my laptop (both archlinux, arm for rpi and x64 for laptop..) :cry:
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:17 am