Prevent SD-Card Corruption

139 posts   Page 1 of 6   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
by drscheme » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:25 pm
It seems that all people have the same problem: the pesky SD-Card corruption. I read lots about backing up or restoring the card and also trying to fix the card. But I didn't find a thread that describes what we can do to PREVENT SD-Card corruption. I'm sure there must be some "fancy" tweeks that help that the Card's file system don't die so quickly.

What I try now is the following:

1) Check the file system every three reboots:
tune2fs -c 3 /dev/mmcblkp02

2) Allow auto correction:
nano /etc/default/rcS --> FSCKFIX=yes

I have no idea and no experience how good that works. But it is worth a try.

Has anybody else another idea?
by malakai » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:31 pm
Corruption generally occurs when writing data to the card. The influencing factors are power loss and over clocking.

If you loose power when writing to the SD Card it can corrupt the card. This is typically due to cutting power during shut down, power on, etc.. When the Pi is up and running a lot is happening in memory and no writes are committed so power loss is not a guarantee of corruption when the Pi is running.

Extreme overclocking can corrupt the data as it's being written to the card if you experience corruption with over clocking try backing off or down your overclock settings.

One option is to move everything but the boot off the SD Card however if while writing a file to the other media both examples can still corrupt that file.
http://www.raspians.com - always looking for content feel free to ask to have it posted. Or sign up and message me to become a contributor to the site. Raspians is not affiliated with the Raspberry Pi Foundation. (RPi's + You = Raspians)
by shuckle » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:33 pm