Monitor Issues


5 posts
by LemonLicker » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:38 pm
My setup:
[*]Raspberry Pi
[*]HDMI --> VGA adapter
[*]Monitor

When running an older version of Debian, this setup worked fine, however on upgrading to the latest version of 'Raspbian' the display only registers that there is an input and is blank.

However, when setting hdmi_group=1 in the config.txt, I get can get a display. However, to get the resolution I desire, it requires me to change hdmi_group to '2' but as soon as I do this, the blank screen returns.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :D
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:51 pm
by Mobius » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:42 am
Here's what I've found to work consistently:
Code: Select all
framebuffer_width=1366
framebuffer_height=768
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

The group and mode commands did not always give me the right resolution. As you can see, mine is set to 1366x768.
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:07 am
Location: San Angelo, Texas USA
by LemonLicker » Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:30 am
Mobius wrote:Here's what I've found to work consistently:
Code: Select all
framebuffer_width=1366
framebuffer_height=768
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

The group and mode commands did not always give me the right resolution. As you can see, mine is set to 1366x768.

When I've tried that (without hdmi_force_hotplug=1) it seems to send that resolution through a lower one (it compresses, eg, 1366x768 to fit in 640x480) although I'll give it a go again :)

Thanks for your help ;)
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:51 pm
by LemonLicker » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:02 pm
Mobius wrote:Here's what I've found to work consistently:
Code: Select all
framebuffer_width=1366
framebuffer_height=768
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

The group and mode commands did not always give me the right resolution. As you can see, mine is set to 1366x768.


I've tried what you said with and without hdmi_mode=1 on. With hdmi_mode=1 on I get the correct resolution compressed to fit 640x480 :shock: and with hdmi_mode commented out I get a blank screen, although the monitor is still definitely detected, as it registers an input at the correct resolution but the pi does not send anything to show :(
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:51 pm
by Mobius » Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:28 pm
Did you just use my numbers for resolution of did you change them for your monitor? I'd suggest starting with 640x480 to prove the point, then work your way up from there using standard combinations (e.g.: 800x600, 1024x768). Hopefully you have a manual for your display that tells you what the allowed resolutions are.
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:07 am
Location: San Angelo, Texas USA