Adobe Flash

8 posts
by Chris2079 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:40 pm
Hallo all,
I'm very new to RPI and Linux and forums (Forae ?) so please be gentle with me.
Now then - Please forgive the length of this post - I hope someone will read and understand my feelings. I have used Mac and Windows OS for years and I'm reasonably competent with those at the blunt end. I bought a Pi to encourage my grandchildren (6 and 9) and myself to take an interest in the sharp end of computing. Scratch is great fun - not yet graduated to IDLE or PYTHON - although I've a few issues with Scratch, but save that for another time.

The reason for my post is the awful time I've had trying to install a Flash plugin so we can use some websites that demand it, and it has been a nightmare ! I've bought the official RPI book and does it mention installing Flash ? No it does not. Does the interwebnet help. It tries but unsuccessfully as far as I'm concerned. For example Adobe's site offers several Linux versions to download 32 or 64 bit ? Er sorry ? Pass. Ubuntu ? YUM? tar.gz ? .rpm ? Whatever they might be, a Debian version is nowhere to be seen. (And what is Raspbian ? Do I have it ?) and if I find the right one why isn't there a little button that just says "Install" I appreciate that in some contexts playing with a terminal can be educational and good for you. But not when you just want to install Flash to make web pages work properly !

I found helpful command lines to type into my LX terminal. and they did stuff - well they tried to run, as opposed to just saying "command not recognised" but always fail to work. Usually says it cannot find something. By the way what is the difference between Debian/ Etch and Debian/ Lenny? And What is mine if I bought a full fat OEM SD card with the fruit ?